homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Become a Pro Member

Visit PubCon.com
Home / Forums Index / WebmasterWorld / New To Web Development
Forum Library, Charter, Moderators: brotherhood of lan & mack

New To Web Development Forum

I found a website called aboutus.com that connects to my site
who is aboutus.com?

 9:57 am on Jun 27, 2010 (gmt 0)

something weird going on here:

I found my site come up under an aboutus.com website, I never heard of them

and they have an address there that does belong to me and all this other garbage, I'm totally disgusted, i do n't know what to do

I need help NOW!


brotherhood of LAN

 10:04 pm on Jun 27, 2010 (gmt 0)

What would you like to do? You can sign up to aboutus and add/remove details about your site.


 10:17 pm on Jun 27, 2010 (gmt 0)

oh, well how did the details get there in the first place?

brotherhood of LAN

 12:29 am on Jun 28, 2010 (gmt 0)

You might want to have a look through their website as to how that happens, their about page may be useful..



 12:56 am on Jun 28, 2010 (gmt 0)

ok, tomorrow, too pooped now, I changed the details though so they're correct now, always something bye nd good ngiht


 2:39 am on Jun 30, 2010 (gmt 0)

I've found the links from this site to be valuable only to very very small sites, ie a niche site in a niche within a niche. Said differently a sector full of mostly hobby sites with <10 authority sites. In WW speak: 'red widgets collected by little old ladies in the USA'.

Only in that case for results I've seen it be helpful to Y!, less for Bing and slightly to nill for Google.

On my other sites with many PR3 and above inbound links: a link from aboutus.com was a part of the 'link noise' (past 200 in the backlink listing).


 9:30 am on Jun 30, 2010 (gmt 0)

sign up to aboutus.


 12:02 am on Jul 7, 2010 (gmt 0)

Hi Amy, glad that you were able to sign in and remove your contact info, and add a nice description about the project. I fixed the capitalization of the page and checked to see where we might have gotten your information from. Looks like your site was in the top million that we started with in June 2006 - is it possible that you didn't have your contact information concealed at that time (or 2004-5)? That is my best guess.

Hopple, thanks for that information - we are always trying to figure out how to be a better resource for website operators.

Also, I know it is confusing, AboutUs.org is the wiki and AboutUs.com is the newly launched social site for people interested in talking about websites.

Best, Mark


 12:38 am on Jul 7, 2010 (gmt 0)

Amy, you might find this thread from a year ago worth reading:



 1:40 am on Jul 7, 2010 (gmt 0)

oh ok, will read, thank you

Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  

Home / Forums Index / WebmasterWorld / New To Web Development
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved