homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Become a Pro Member
Home / Forums Index / Google / Google AdWords
Forum Library, Charter, Moderators: buckworks & eWhisper & skibum

Google AdWords Forum

MCC Phishing Emails

 3:57 pm on Dec 10, 2009 (gmt 0)

Received an email today saying one of the accounts in my MCC had gone dark and I needed to log in to re-enable it. Of course, it was a phishing attempt trying to direct me to google-ob.com or some such. And, of course, we're all too savvy to fall for such a thing, but I thought I'd mention it. It *did* come to my AdWords account email address, which is not used for anything else, nor generally known.



 4:10 pm on Dec 10, 2009 (gmt 0)

I too have had such messages addressed to e-mail accounts only used for Google AdWords. It's possible it was guessed, but unlikely.

There aren't many places it could have come from, unless someone is sniffing e-mail addresses, form somewhere. Now that's a concern.


 6:08 pm on Dec 10, 2009 (gmt 0)

Got one here as well, viewing the headers, originated from udel.edu? Curiously, I don't think that the address I received the message at is one that I use for google anything... it's an address that I use for things like FB, Twitter etc...


 2:43 pm on Dec 11, 2009 (gmt 0)

Got one yesterday too but from www.google-mcc.com


 3:50 pm on Dec 11, 2009 (gmt 0)

Heh, I sent a copy of mine to support, and this morning got back a long automated primer on how not to fall for phishing emails.

I sure wish, along with the GAP certification, they gave us a special super secret email address where we could bypass front line support. I've got a sticky note up on my wall now of names of reps with whom I will NOT deal if they answer one of my support concerns. Just added another one.

creative craig

 4:32 pm on Dec 12, 2009 (gmt 0)

I have had a lot of those over the last 10 days.

All the URLS are Google-xx.com the XX being changed to all different two letter combinations.

Looks fairly convincing the in the wording and the way it is sent out etc...


 12:44 pm on Dec 13, 2009 (gmt 0)

Let say one fell for this, what will happen to the account?

The scammer creates campaigns for viarga and bids 100$/click and then...


 11:02 pm on Dec 13, 2009 (gmt 0)

I too got one sent to my Google MCC address which isn't used for normal email but I use it for some minor activities, e.g. Orkut.

I too have a GAP and I wonder if one of the GAP lists can be harvested?


 9:18 pm on Dec 26, 2009 (gmt 0)

Same here i also had email and reported it.. but in my case the email is used *only* for my google account. i take spl care of that the emial dosent go away and nor do i make any kind of social activity (comment) etc over that account. I would really like to know where did they got my email from plus most importantly how did they knew i had an active adwords account...


 2:26 pm on Jan 4, 2010 (gmt 0)

I got one today. It said that Google's servers had crashed and that I should check to see if my ads were running and click on the link to confirm they were working 100%.

It had me fooled for about 2 seconds. Funny to imagine that Google wouldn't know their own ads were showing and that you would manually need to confirm by clicking a link.

But the email starts with the the phrase "Your account has stopped showing ads." so I can imagine it sending some people into a panic.

This was not sent to my MCC email, but rather the e-mail for one of our accounts.


 7:03 pm on Jan 4, 2010 (gmt 0)

Got the same exact thing today as Structuralist. Sent in fact to my adwords email, which is not used for many things aside from adwords...

Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  

Home / Forums Index / Google / Google AdWords
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved