homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Become a Pro Member
Visit PubCon.com
Home / Forums Index / Google / Google AdSense
Forum Library, Charter, Moderators: incrediBILL & jatar k & martinibuster

Google AdSense Forum

Adnxs Page Background Ads

 2:30 pm on Mar 8, 2013 (gmt 0)

I haven't used adsense in a while, but I've just seen this site has ads from google as their clickable page background. Is this a new thing from adsense, or you would have to be a premium publisher?

The site in question: <snip>

[edited by: incrediBILL at 11:48 pm (utc) on Mar 8, 2013]
[edit reason] URL removed, see forum charter and site TOS [/edit]



 2:38 pm on Mar 8, 2013 (gmt 0)

What you see there is from adnxs.com ..not Google..
adnxs.com have reputation for delivering malware pop ups etc..search their name..

It is inadvisable to knowingly visit sites that use them..unless your system is locked down tighter than is usual..


 2:42 pm on Mar 8, 2013 (gmt 0)

Oh, thank you for the reply. But how does <snip> go hand in hand with adsense? Since the site runs both adsense and adnxs.

Secondly, are you sure it's adnxs? Because when I hover over the URL of the ad it goes to adclick.g.doubleclick.net and if I'm not mistaken doubleclick = google.

[edited by: incrediBILL at 11:50 pm (utc) on Mar 8, 2013]
[edit reason] URL removed, see forum charter and site TOS [/edit]


 3:43 pm on Mar 8, 2013 (gmt 0)

The background ads ( sometimes called "wraps" ) that you see there are not from Google ( although there is adsense elsewhere on the page ) the wrap is definitely from ams1.ib.adnxs.com ( which is what shows in the on hover ) and when I "click on it" ( I do not advise that anyone does the same ) I "go" via the adnxs.com system..

Sites can run more than one ad network at once..and if they are serving via DFP or similar they can be "rotating" ads from different suppliers in and out ..so we may not both be seeing the same things at the same time ( there were two adsense banners one at the top, one at the bottom-then I "refreshed"- there is now one adsense banner at the top and an adxns banner at the bottom..but the wraps are still adnxs generated and require a "missing plug in" ( although they showed me a brief "static wrap image" )..which I would guess would deliver the malware..

Opera dragonfly shows me it is redirecting and is run by http*://bs.serving-sys.com/BurstingPipe/adServer.bs blah blah blah (*deliberately unlinked ) etc..It is a RealMedia "thing", they are known for their ad "wraps".. and it is Geo targeted..after all redirects are finished it send me to an eu ( as a sin a subdomain ) sign up page for a "blizzard" game..

A simple "view source" will not show this, it would make one think it was a part of the page set aside to run what they call in source a G "site skin"..

Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  

Home / Forums Index / Google / Google AdSense
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved