Lame_Wolf

msg:4522231 | 7:47 pm on Nov 24, 2012 (gmt 0) |
I've had that site a few times myself. I never authorized it.
|
Frost_Angel

msg:4522232 | 7:59 pm on Nov 24, 2012 (gmt 0) |
I've never had it appear to be authorized and I can't find any real info on it either. At first I thought it was an advertising network - and they displayed ads for adsense.... but now I just don't know.
|
ember

msg:4522251 | 10:01 pm on Nov 24, 2012 (gmt 0) |
If I don't own it, I don't authorize it.
|
Frost_Angel

msg:4522259 | 11:29 pm on Nov 24, 2012 (gmt 0) |
@ember Even if it's something like? I authorize those. translate.yandex.net googleads.g.doubleclick.net
|
jpch

msg:4522267 | 12:45 am on Nov 25, 2012 (gmt 0) |
I'm with ember...if I don't own it, it doesn't get authorized.
|
ember

msg:4522271 | 1:49 am on Nov 25, 2012 (gmt 0) |
Even if it's something like? I authorize those. translate.yandex.net googleads.g.doubleclick.net |
| Even reputable sites I don't authorize because you just never know. The only ones I have control over are the ones I authorize. Paranoid maybe, but I'd rather be safe than sorry.
|
netmeg

msg:4522276 | 2:21 am on Nov 25, 2012 (gmt 0) |
For what it's worth, I've never messed with any of that stuff at all.
|
swa66

msg:4522374 | 3:04 pm on Nov 25, 2012 (gmt 0) |
I'm with ember: If I don't own it it does not get authorized. Not even Goog's acquisitions, nor translation services.
|
IanCP

msg:4522415 | 8:24 pm on Nov 25, 2012 (gmt 0) |
I authorise most reputable translation sites for the simple reason my educational sites have international appeal.
|
incrediBILL

msg:4522417 | 8:42 pm on Nov 25, 2012 (gmt 0) |
Thw site b.cured.com appears to be related to AdMedia possibly
|
Frost_Angel

msg:4522432 | 10:42 pm on Nov 25, 2012 (gmt 0) |
@incrediBill That's the info I found too.... and I'm thinking they are legit - but I'm too afraid to authorize.
|
incrediBILL

msg:4522444 | 12:14 am on Nov 26, 2012 (gmt 0) |
Looked a 2nd time and found some banner ad systems running out of that domain but that doesn't explain how your AdSense ID became associated with their site. It makes no sense, I'd block 'em.
|
Lame_Wolf

msg:4522445 | 12:19 am on Nov 26, 2012 (gmt 0) |
| It makes no sense, I'd block 'em. |
| There isn't an option to block them, only authorize. That site appeared about a month or so ago. I had the pleasure of looking at "Your ads have recently appeared on websites you haven't authorised. To avoid lost revenue, make sure that you authorise any sites where you display ads by visiting your account settings." for about a week before it finally disappeared off the list. Then it appeared again about 5-6 days ago. Again, I have to see that above message. On a side note: Even if you do authorize it, that ruddy message still stays there. Fecking annoying.
|
ThatsBoBo

msg:4522607 | 4:19 pm on Nov 26, 2012 (gmt 0) |
A year or so ago a confirmed Google rep came on here and advised us to allow such services as Google Translate, etc./Yahoo, etc. to display ads. No idea where that old thread is.
|
|