homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Become a Pro Member

Visit PubCon.com
Home / Forums Index / Google / Google SEO News and Discussion
Forum Library, Charter, Moderators: Robert Charlton & aakk9999 & brotherhood of lan & goodroi

Google SEO News and Discussion Forum

Malware Warning - a New Interstitial on Google

 4:05 pm on Oct 8, 2006 (gmt 0)

Noted a new page being inserted between clicking a serp link and getting to the actual site. Google is putting up a page with the title "Malware Warning" and Warning - the site you are about to visit may harm your computer! on the page
It then has this:
Return to the previous page and pick another result.
Try another search to find what you're looking for.
Or you can continue to example.com
Then it says: advisory provided by Google

It also gives a link to a StopBadware dot org that looking at the whois Google owns although the site says that they are just a partner of Google
I searched here and didnt see anything posted about it and have never seen this before - isnt Google kinda setting themselves up for a lawsuit since when I clicked this link it was definitely a clean site (not mine in any way)
In this case I thought maybe they were using the blacklist status from whois - but I checked and both that IP and the host are both Clear status
I then read the Stopbadware site and it seems that anyone can report a site and it will get listed - seems to be a really good way to get a competitor taken out



 5:41 pm on Oct 8, 2006 (gmt 0)

Isn't that a new FireFox feature against Phishing?


 8:38 pm on Oct 8, 2006 (gmt 0)

it seems that anyone can report a site and it will get listed

Somehow I doubt that's how the process works.


 10:48 pm on Oct 8, 2006 (gmt 0)

Not only can anyone submit a site, you can do it anonymously.

The have a webform you can fill out on the site.


 11:04 pm on Oct 8, 2006 (gmt 0)

plasma - all I know is I was looking in the Serps witha rather common search term - and clicked on the first (#1) result and got this warning page from google - and I was using IE
the url with the name of the specific domain exampled out was:

Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  

Home / Forums Index / Google / Google SEO News and Discussion
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved