| How to ban YahooSeeker? Used robots file, but it doesn't obey. |
zf007

msg:1529154 | 3:44 am on Dec 28, 2003 (gmt 0) | Hi, I tried to ban yahooseeker from crawling my site, I used robots.txt: User-agent: YahooSeeker Disallow: / All other crawlers obey my robots file, except yahooseeker. YahooSeeker is still crawling my site like crazy! the ip is: 66.196.93.32 I checked this ip, it never read robots file. the log file is like: YahooSeeker/1.0+(compatible;+Mozilla+4.0;+MSIE+5.5;+http://help.yahoo.com/help/us/shop/merchant/) - 200 335 but another ip: 66.196.93.5 reads the robots file then left. the log file is like: HTTP/1.0 YahooSeeker/1.0+(compatible;+Mozilla+4.0;+MSIE+5.5;+http://search.yahoo.com/yahooseeker.html) - 200 233 Are they both Yahooseeker? Anyone met this before and any suggestions is really appreciated. BTW, since my site doesn't sell any products, there should be no negative effects on my site if I ban yahooseeker? Thank you all, Happy new year! Feng
|
sidyadav

msg:1529155 | 3:59 am on Jan 1, 2004 (gmt 0) | | All other crawlers obey my robots file, except yahooseeker. |
| Thats not true, there are more than a 1000 bots out there that don't obey robots.txt. Only the good ones do. YahooSeeker is used for Yahoo's product search service: [products.yahoo.com...] , if your site doesn't sell any products, you should ban it. | Are they both Yahooseeker? |
| They both come from the same batch of IP 66.196.93 which resolve to yj1028.inktomisearch.com, and since Yahoo owns Inktomi, They indeed belong to Yahoo. If you want to block the whole YahooSeeker IPs, enter this code in your .htaccess file: order allow,deny allow from all deny from 66.196.93.32 |
| It should work. Sid BTW - Welcome to WebmasterWorld!
|
|
|