| 9:26 pm on Aug 27, 2004 (gmt 0)|
You get paid per click and that is it. Every click is different for the most part. You can just look at the avg at the end of the day. Channles can sometimes narrow it down a lot as far as how much you make per click.
There really is not much to know. All you can do is stick the stuff on your site and see how well it does. Set up channels and that will help the most. I put channels on pages that get the most traffic. You can have up to 50 channels. It takes them 2 days to post channel stats. You can also put channels on sections of your site. If you have several subject make a channel for each subject. CPM is worthless. The only stat you need to look at is Impressions and how much you make. They don't show the most important stat but you can come up with that yourself. That is EPC. If you have 100 clicks and you make $25 you are making $0.25 a click.
There is no way to know how G figures things. You can make $0.03 one day and $0.25 the next. I have seen as much as $9 a click on one channel. I know people that are lucky to get $0.10 a click and some people get $1 a click avg every day consistently. There is no formula it is different for every body and every subject that you publish. 2 people can have the same subject and same number of page views and make totally different incomes.
CTR is a good number to look at. It tells you how well your sites or channel converts. CTR along with channels is the most powerful stat outside of earnings.
It depends on what kind of site you have
- What kind of visitors do you have
- Where you put your ad
- Is your site so good people don't want to leave
- Is your site so bad that clicking on an ad is the fastest way out of there
- Does your site whip people into a buying frenzy and clicking on the AS link is there only release
| 9:59 pm on Aug 27, 2004 (gmt 0)|
I seen channeling on adsense, but i don't really understand what that means or does?
| 11:38 pm on Aug 27, 2004 (gmt 0)|
You make up channels for different parts of your site. For instance, create a channel for "blue widgets" and then select the custom-made code made for "blue widgets." Put that code on all your pages that pertain to blue widgets. Make channels red and green widgets (title them something like "blue," "red," "green"—you get the idea) and then put the corresponding code on the right pages.
This way, you are able to see how well the blue widget pages are doing in comparison to the green widget pages. It can be very helpful. You might also experiment with placement of ads—use one channel and have all the ads on the bottom of the page (for instance), and use another channel where all the ads are on the top. Interesting . . .
| 12:00 am on Aug 28, 2004 (gmt 0)|
yosemite using channles to tell how well an ad placement does is going to be hard to tell there are all kinds of factors that could be making one do better than the other.
| 12:23 am on Aug 28, 2004 (gmt 0)|
That's true enough, but if you are getting similar results from two channels, and then you change the ads' position in one channel and not the other, you can track the changes and get some ideas. (Nothing definitive, however.) It can all be interesting . . .
| 12:26 am on Aug 28, 2004 (gmt 0)|
can you make revenue off of channeling? Also, you don't make money off of impressions right? if not, then what is the purpose of impressions besides knowing how many page views? also, adsense search, do you only make money when a search is made and someone clicks on the paid ad's at the top of the page?
| 12:35 am on Aug 28, 2004 (gmt 0)|
|can you make revenue off of channeling? Also, you don't make money off of impressions right? if not, then what is the purpose of impressions besides knowing how many page views? also, adsense search, do you only make money when a search is made and someone clicks on the paid ad's at the top of the page? |
Not to sound snide - but this *is* covered in Google's extensive FAQs and TOS - in fact I strongly urge you to read their Terms & Conditions in painstaking detail so that your next post isn't - "hey I got kicked out - how was I supposed to know that XYZ was against the rules".
"channeling" is not a verb that applies to adsense. If you have more than one site - you could activate a separate channel for each domain, that way you could tell that your "fuzzy widget" site was making $X a day through adsense, and that your "Green Gadget" site was making $.xx per day.
This could lead you to develop more content for one or the other site, reconsider ad placement etc.
I have, on one site channel tracking for the home page and another channel for the rest of the site.
You only get paid for clicks made by your visitors. Before you start acting on your "bright idea" - let me mention that Google is very good at figuring out when the owners of sites click on their own adverts - and these "self-clickers" get kicked out quite regularly - so don't do it.
| 1:37 am on Aug 28, 2004 (gmt 0)|
No bright ideas here, i just didn't understand some of the stuff they were saying in their terms and conditions etc. Wasn't quite sure what made money and what didn't. i knew click throughs made money, just wasn't sure if anything else did (impressions, channeling etc). What's the big deal with impressions anyway besides knowing how many page views you have?
| 4:36 am on Aug 28, 2004 (gmt 0)|
A channel is just a label. Think of it that way. It's just a way to keep track of how one page or group of pages is doing.
| 5:56 am on Aug 28, 2004 (gmt 0)|
Impressions are used as sort of a barometer for comparison between different pages and how well the ads are performing on your pages.
For instance, if your serving 1000 impressions a day through your home page but not getting any clicks then this is a good indicator that something may not be right. Perhaps your banner is in a bad location, perhaps the content on that page is so compelling that they don't even notice the banner at the top, etc.
Whenever you do any type of marketing or stats tracking you have to know your overall figures to compare against those that acted.
If you were to do a mass mailing and you received 10 sales from the mass mailing you don't know if this is a good return or a dismal one until you know how many mailings you sent out to begin with.