| Martix Solutions?
|
sammyp

msg:1226112 | 2:14 pm on May 8, 2003 (gmt 0) | Had a call today from the above which sounds too good to be true, so probably is, but would be interested on any feedback. Their pitch is that they have some software called the CAT system which can apparently identify UK users who have unwittingly made a search for a UK company, but on a US search engine. It identifies them from the IP address.It then apparently re-directs them to my site. Obviously it will be linked to a specific search term. They are quoting £299 + vat for 5000 clicks spread over a month, or as long as you want it. Only one click per IP address allowed and visitor must be on your site for 2.5 minutes. Is this a scam.
|
Bobby_Davro

msg:1226113 | 2:21 pm on May 8, 2003 (gmt 0) | I am sure that this was asked quite recently (although I can't see it in a search). I think that it was a scam - the redirecting site redirects everyone, not just people from the UK, IIRC. They then sell it to UK businesses pretending that they are being cleverly redirected from some other site. Try it in Anonymizer, and see if you still get redirected.
|
tosspot17

msg:1226114 | 10:34 am on May 14, 2003 (gmt 0) | I had a call from these lot recently and just went mad at them on the phone. As Bobby_Davro says, they send you to an apparently US site to show how the redirect works, but it doesn't matter where you are it redirects. Anonymiser was very telling. Avoid them like the plague ;) [webmasterworld.com...] [webmasterworld.com...]
|
sammyp

msg:1226115 | 10:57 am on May 14, 2003 (gmt 0) | Many thanks for your help. Needles to say, think I'll give them a miss.
|
|
|