homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Become a Pro Member
Home / Forums Index / Google / Google AdWords
Forum Library, Charter, Moderators: buckworks & eWhisper & skibum

Google AdWords Forum

Google Adwords IP address (Dublin?)
Does anybody have it? Or is this click fraud?

 3:27 pm on Apr 6, 2004 (gmt 0)

I've got some dubious traffic from the same IP in a short time frame, across several UK Adwords accounts.

I know the IP it comes from, which RIPE says is "Colt Internet Dublin".

I wondered if this in fact Google Ireland's staff checking ads...so if anybody knows their IP, please send it over (by sticky mail if you want to keep it private).

I've already got Overture Ireland.




 7:04 am on May 4, 2004 (gmt 0)

Hi Redlion.

I have also found some dubious traffic coming from an ip address linked to Colt in Ireland. They seemed to have spidered some links I had submitted to Google during April and I was wondering if it was someone checking to make sure that all of the links resolved. Each of the links were clicked on with only a few seconds between each one.

Any info about this would be great. Thanks


 7:06 am on May 4, 2004 (gmt 0)

I'll drop an email to a very nice person at Google UK to get some clarification on this, unless AWA or GG can help out.



 7:18 am on May 4, 2004 (gmt 0)

Much appreciated Shak. Thanks


 4:10 pm on May 4, 2004 (gmt 0)

sorry, no luck so far.

must be on vacation or celebrating the IPO announcement :)

gonna drop someone at HQ an email, as I really keen to find out about this.


just remembered that the person who I was contacting was actually on leave last week, silly me :(

[edited by: Shak at 5:56 am (utc) on May 10, 2004]


 7:55 pm on May 4, 2004 (gmt 0)

I've had problems with certain European ISPs / click fraud (a2000.nl out of the netherlands for instance).

I've had pretty good luck managing it by just removing the effected country from my campaigns (especially if there not a major source of sales)

One interesting trick to try is see if you can telnet into the IP on any of the common proxy ports - ie 80, 8080, 1080. You can also poke around Google for things like 'proxy test'.

If the IP appears to be a proxy - it's probably someone bouncing click spam off it - the spammer could really be any place on the planet.

Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  

Home / Forums Index / Google / Google AdWords
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved