homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from 54.163.72.86
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Become a Pro Member
Home / Forums Index / Search Engines / UK Search and Internet Marketing News
Forum Library, Charter, Moderators: IanTurner & engine

UK Search and Internet Marketing News Forum

    
Updated list of UK search engines
All currently active I think
Bobby_Davro




msg:261309
 11:58 am on Sep 22, 2003 (gmt 0)
The only new engine that I heard about (that I can mention) at PubConference was Ankoo.co.uk. The chap running it (sorry, I have forgotten your name) was very keen and has good financial backing, so keep an eye out for it in your logs.

UK wide engines
===========================================
192 Directory - http://www.192directory.co.uk
192 Directory Enquiries - http://www.192directoryenquiries.net
192.com - http://www.192.com
1Do3 - http://www.1do3.com
250000 - http://www.250000.co.uk
2c Belper - http://www.2cuk.net
33 Max - http://www.33max.co.uk
5 Star Sites - http://www.5starsites.co.uk
A-Z Find - http://www.a-zfind.com
Abacho UK - http://www.abacho.co.uk
ABC Websearch - http://www.abcwebsearch.com
Abrexa UK - http://www.abrexa.co.uk
All of England - http://www.allofengland.com
All That's Britain - http://www.allthatsbritain.com
AllSearchEngines - http://www.allsearchengines.co.uk
Alpha 123 - http://www.alpha123.co.uk
Altavista UK - http://www.altavista.co.uk
Andy's Now2Business - http://www.andys-now2business.co.uk
AOL UK - http://www.aol.co.uk
ARC - http://www.arc.co.uk
Ask Alix - http://www.askalix.com
Ask Jack - http://www.askjack.co.uk
Ask Jeeves - http://www.askjeeves.co.uk
BBCi - http://www.bbc.co.uk
BigPages - http://www.bigpages.co.uk
Brit index - http://www.britindex.co.uk
British Companies - http://www.britishcompanies.co.uk
British Information - http://www.britishinformation.com
BT OpenWorld - http://www.btopenworld.com
Business Directory - http://www.businessdirectorynet.co.uk
Business Jeeves - http://www.businessjeeves.co.uk
CentralSeek - http://www.centralseek.com
Click 4 It Local - http://www.click4itlocal.co.uk
Click For Choice - http://www.clickforchoice.co.uk
Compuserve - http://www.compuserve.co.uk
Contents - http://www.contents.co.uk
Cool Breeze - http://www.coolbreeze.co.uk
CountyWeb - http://www.countyweb.co.uk
Cyber Britain - http://www.cyberbritain.co.uk
Deep Index UK - http://www.en.deepindex.com
Directory Enquiries.net - http://www.192enquiries.com
DogPile UK - http://www.dogpile.co.uk
Dot UK Directory - http://dotukdirectory.co.uk
Dots and Coms UK - http://www.dotsandcoms.co.uk
e-Shopping - http://www.e-shopping.co.uk
EIBON - http://www.eibon.co.uk
eLooker - http://www.elooker.co.uk
Euroseek - http://www.euroseek.com
Every Day - http://www.everyday.co.uk
EveryDayUK - http://www.everydayuk.co.uk
Excite UK - http://www.excite.co.uk
Find It - http://www.findit.co.uk
Find Once - http://www.findonce.co.uk
Find UK - http://www.find-uk.com
Found Ya - http://www.foundya.co.uk
Freeserve - http://www.freeserve.com
Fush.com - http://www.fush.com
Gasta - http://www.gasta.co.uk
GenieKnows - http://www.genieknows.co.uk
Get UK Favourites - http://www.getfavourites.co.uk
Go Go Look - http://www.gogolook.com
Godado - http://www.godado.co.uk
Google UK - http://www.google.co.uk
Great British Pages - http://www.great-british-pages.co.uk
Happy Online - http://www.happy-online.co.uk
HM Search - http://hmsearch.co.uk
Hotbot UK - http://www.hotbot.co.uk
IDNET UK - http://www.idnetuk.com
Information Channel - http://www.informationchannel.co.uk
Instant Guide - http://www.instantguide.co.uk
Ithaki Uk - http://ithaki.net/indexuk.htm
J Search - http://www.jsearch.co.uk
Jini Search - http://www.jinisearch.co.uk
Just35.com - http://www.just35.com
KeConnect - http://www.keconnect.co.uk
KellySearch - http://www.kellys.co.uk
Kingdom Search - http://www.kingdomsearch.co.uk
Kyotee - http://www.kyotee.com
LifeStyle UK - http://www.lifestyle.co.uk
Limey Search - http://www.limeysearch.co.uk
LinkCentre.com - http://www.LinkCentre.com
LogoLinks - http://www.logolinks.co.uk
Look Here - http://www.lookhere.co.uk
Looksmart UK - http://www.looksmart.co.uk
Lycos UK - http://www.lycos.co.uk
MegPeg - http://www.megpeg.com
Mirago - http://www.mirago.co.uk
Moon mist - http://www.moonmist.info
MSN UK - http://www.msn.co.uk
Mug o Milk - http://www.mugomilk.co.uk
My UK Directory - http://www.myukdirectory.co.uk
Netscape UK - http://www.netscape.co.uk
nextmoves - http://www.nextmoves.co.uk
Now 2 Business - http://www.now2business.co.uk
ntlworld - http://www.ntlworld.com
O2 - http://www.o2.co.uk
One Site - http://www.onesite.info
Pepe Search - http://www.pepesearch.co.uk
PMANGELES - http://www.pmangeles.com
Qaz.com - http://www.qaz.com
Scoot - http://www.scoot.co.uk
Scottish Search - http://www.scottishsearch.com
Search 2 - http://www.search2.co.uk
Search Engine.com - http://uk.searchengine.com
Search Gate - http://www.searchgate.co.uk
Search GB - http://www.searchgb.com
Search UK.com - http://www.searchuk.com
Search Uno - http://www.searchuno.co.uk
Searchy - http://www.searchy.co.uk
Seek - http://www.seek.net
SELU - http://www.selu.co.uk
Sgt Search - http://www.sgtsearch.co.uk
Shire Search - http://www.shiresearch.co.uk
ShopQ - http://www.shopq.co.uk
Shops On The Net - http://www.shopsonthenet.co.uk
Slick Clicks - http://www.slick-clicks.com
Somewhere Near - http://www.somewherenear.com
Spark Search - http://www.sparksearch.co.uk
Speed City - http://www.speedcity.co.uk
Splut - http://www.splut.com
Spot Jockey - http://www.spotjockey.co.uk
T4Biz - http://www.t4biz.co.uk
The Arndale - http://www.thearndale.com
The Engine Rooms - http://www.theenginerooms.com
The Local Web - http://www.thelocalweb.net
The Looka Directory - http://www.looka.co.uk
The Matren - http://www.matren.co.uk
The Web Link - http://www.theweblink.co.uk
This Britain - http://www.thisbritain.com
Thomson Local - http://www.thomsonlocal.com
Tiscali - http://www.tiscali.co.uk
Toxic Lemon - http://www.toxiclemon.co.uk
UK 250 - http://www.uk250.co.uk
UK Business Directory - http://www.business-directory-uk.co.uk
UK Click - http://www.uk-click.co.uk
Uk Directory - http://www.ukdirectory.co.uk
Uk Favourites - http://www.ukfavourites.co.uk
UK Find It - http://www.ukfindit.com
UK Index - http://www.ukindex.co.uk
UK Links 4 - http://www.uklinks4.com
UK Nation - http://www.uknation.co.uk
UK Net Guide - http://www.uknetguide.co.uk
UK Phone Book - http://www.ukphonebook.com
UK Plus - http://www.ukplus.co.uk
UK Search King - http://uksearchking.com
UK Services 24 - http://www.ukservices24.co.uk
UK Sprite - http://www.uksprite.co.uk
UK Web Start - http://www.ukwebstart.co.uk
UK Websites Directory - http://www.uk-websitesdirectory.co.uk
UKbest50.co.uk - http://www.UKbest50.co.uk
UKCompass - http://www.opencompass.com
UKLinks.org - http://www.uklinks.org
uksearch.com - http://www.uksearch.com
Ultisearch - http://www.ultisearch.co.uk
Valley Alley - http://www.valleyalley.co.uk
Vital Vortal - http://www.vitalvortal.co.uk
Wahooma - http://www.wahooma.co.uk
Watson the Web - http://www.watsontheweb.co.uk
Web Finder - http://www.webfinder.com
Web Surf UK - http://www.websurfuk.co.uk
Wizi Search - http://www.wizisearch.co.uk
Yahoo UK - http://www.yahoo.co.uk
Yell UK - http://www.yell.co.uk
Yithian - http://www.yithian.co.uk
Zeal UK - http://uk.zeal.com/

Scottish engines
===========================================

All Of Scotland - http://www.allofscotland.com
Highlands Web - http://www.highlandsweb.co.uk
In Edinburgh - http://www.inedinburgh.co.uk
In Glasgow - http://www.inglasgow.co.uk
Scot Find - http://www.scotfind.com
Scot Search - http://www.scotsearch.org
Scot Smart - http://www.scotsmart.com
Scotland.com - http://www.scotland.com
Tartan Pages - http://www.scotlands.com
Web Scot - http://www.webscot.co.uk

Northern Irish engines
===========================================

4NI - http://www.4ni.co.uk
Global Gateway - http://www.globalgateway.com
Index ireland - http://www.indexireland.com
Irish Search - http://www.irishsearch.net
NI portal - http://www.niportal.co.uk
NINetwork - http://www.ninetwork.com
NISearch - http://www.nisearch.com
Purple Pages - http://www.purplepages.ie
RoboLink - http://www.robolink.co.uk

Welsh engines
===========================================

Cheshire Web - http://www.cheshireweb.co.uk
Cilmeri - http://www.cilmeri.co.uk
Gwent Business - http://www.gwent-direct.org.uk
North Wales Links - http://www.northwaleslinks.com
Search in Wales - http://www.searchinwales.com
Wales Index - http://www.walesindex.co.uk

South East English engines
===========================================

Anglia Search - http://www.angliasearch.co.uk
Camb Search - http://www.cambsearch.co.uk
Londinium - http://www.londinium.com
Net London - http://www.netlondon.com
South online - http://www.south-online.co.uk
Sussex Business Directory - http://www.brighton.co.uk
Thames Valley Business - http://www.thames-valley-business.co.uk

South West English engines
===========================================

Bristol Link - http://www.bristol-link.co.uk
Dorset's Web - http://www.dorsetsweb.co.uk
eCornwall - http://www.ecornwall.com
Glos Web - http://www.glosweb.co.uk
Gloucestershire Portal - http://www.softdata.co.uk
Look It Up - http://www.lookit-up.com
Spider Crab - http://www.spidercrab.net

North English engines
===========================================

Cumbria.uk.com - http://www.cumbria.uk.com
Cumbrian Web - http://www.cumbrianweb.co.uk
Ezeee - http://www.ezeee.com
In Manchester - http://www.inmanchester.co.uk
Lancashire Online - http://www.lancashire-online.co.uk
Lincolnshire Now - http://www.lincolnshirenow.com
Lincs.co.uk - http://www.lincs.co.uk
Milk and Two sugars - http://www.milktwosugars.co.uk
North of England Online - http://www.neon.org.uk
Northampton Web - http://www.northantsweb.co.uk
NW4U - http://www.nw4u.co.uk
Yorkshire Web - http://www.yorksweb.co.uk

Midland English engines
===========================================

Birmingham UK - http://www.birminghamuk.com
East Midlands Net - http://search.eastmidlands.net
Hereford Web - http://www.herefordweb.co.uk
In Birmingham - http://www.inbirmingham.co.uk
In Coventry - http://www.incoventry.co.uk
In Leicester - http://www.inleicester.co.uk
In Wolverhampton - http://www.inwolverhampton.co.uk
Northampton UK.com - http://www.northampton.uk.com
Notts Web - http://www.nottsweb.co.uk
Worcs Web - http://www.worcsweb.co.uk

 

Tor




msg:261310
 12:07 pm on Sep 22, 2003 (gmt 0)

Impressive! ;)

bunder




msg:261311
 5:44 pm on Sep 22, 2003 (gmt 0)

great bit of research and very useful for all of us.

Leslie

Skier




msg:261312
 6:03 pm on Sep 22, 2003 (gmt 0)

Thank you Bobby. A valuable resource.

Shak




msg:261313
 6:04 pm on Sep 22, 2003 (gmt 0)

Bobby,

how many hours a day do you work?

really appreciated...

Shak

IanTurner




msg:261314
 8:48 pm on Sep 22, 2003 (gmt 0)

An excellent list - this will definitely go in my list of favourite threads as a reference point.

sem4u




msg:261315
 9:21 pm on Sep 22, 2003 (gmt 0)

Excellent work Bobby!

webdiversity




msg:261316
 9:40 pm on Sep 22, 2003 (gmt 0)

Well done BD.

David_D




msg:261317
 8:24 am on Sep 23, 2003 (gmt 0)

Thanks very helpful,

OK which ones give good PR ranking......

Dayo_UK




msg:261318
 8:36 am on Sep 23, 2003 (gmt 0)

Good Stuff Bobby!

OK which ones give good PR ranking......

Guess this is what everyone thinks - but some of them (and all of them together) might give you a bit of traffic too.

Bobby_Davro




msg:261319
 1:45 pm on Sep 23, 2003 (gmt 0)
And one more for the list; the newly named Wotbox.

Wotbox - http://www.wotbox.co.uk

creative craig




msg:261320
 1:55 pm on Sep 23, 2003 (gmt 0)

A fine bit of work :)

Craig

mistah




msg:261321
 8:48 pm on Sep 23, 2003 (gmt 0)

Thanks a lot!

Quite a lot more there than I would have expected.

I notice that Mirago feeds quite a few of these. What is the best way to sign up to Mirago? I can only seem to get info on how to join their PPC program. Is there a way of just getting on the Mirago index without joining the PPC?

killroy




msg:261322
 9:04 pm on Sep 23, 2003 (gmt 0)

Now we just need to know which are organic, PFI, general, niche, high-traffic, low... :)

Any takers?

Thanks for the great list!

SN

Dayo_UK




msg:261323
 9:09 pm on Sep 23, 2003 (gmt 0)

What is the best way to sign up to Mirago?

Listing in the UK Regional Section of DMOZ should do the trick.

engine




msg:261324
 7:51 am on Sep 24, 2003 (gmt 0)
[quote]What is the best way to sign up to Mirago? [/quote]
And here:
http://www.mirago.co.uk/regions/default.asp
Nodge




msg:261325
 1:22 pm on Oct 7, 2003 (gmt 0)

One more for the list:

thelocalweb

Alexa ranked 11688

[edited by: IanTurner at 1:46 pm (utc) on Oct. 7, 2003]
[edit reason] already on the list [/edit]

owenjones




msg:261326
 1:00 pm on Oct 12, 2003 (gmt 0)

Thanks Bobby_,
A very useful list for a necomer like me.
Useful to anyone, I imagine.
Thanks for sharing.
Regards,
Owen.

engine




msg:261327
 3:42 pm on Oct 12, 2003 (gmt 0)

owenjones,
Welcome to WebmasterWorld [webmasterworld.com]

Glad you could join us.

Added free northern ireland web directory [nidirect.co.uk...]

[edited by: engine at 4:14 pm (utc) on July 24, 2007]

Michael Anthony




msg:261328
 2:08 pm on Oct 15, 2003 (gmt 0)

Thanks Bobby Davro - your site is a great help, by the way. How do you compile the rankings when nobody discloses the data?

Also,
What is the best way to sign up to Mirago?

And here:
[mirago.co.uk...]

From my experience, don't bother with their PPC service, it just doesn't deliver ROI.

Bobby_Davro




msg:261329
 2:39 pm on Oct 15, 2003 (gmt 0)

I could tell you, but I would have to kill you.

fasteddie uk2001




msg:261330
 6:19 pm on Nov 27, 2003 (gmt 0)

another one for your list

[intersearching.co.uk...]

cheers
eddie

Bobby_Davro




msg:261331
 6:32 pm on Nov 27, 2003 (gmt 0)

That's one heck of a nework of sites you have there. You are aware of the dangers of cross linking networks getting banned by the other search engines (i.e. Google), aren't you?

You currently have 50 domains all pointing to each other. It might be worth looking at, especially if you depend on traffic from the likes of Google.

The sites themselves look nicely put together though.

fasteddie uk2001




msg:261332
 12:31 am on Nov 28, 2003 (gmt 0)

sorry, moving this to the interlinking forum as requested, thanks for your ideas bobby

Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  
 

Home / Forums Index / Search Engines / UK Search and Internet Marketing News
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved