homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Become a Pro Member
Home / Forums Index / Search Engines / UK Search and Internet Marketing News
Forum Library, Charter, Moderators: IanTurner & engine

UK Search and Internet Marketing News Forum

onlyyellow pages.com
Who are they?

10+ Year Member

Msg#: 696 posted 11:01 am on Oct 27, 2002 (gmt 0)

Reading my overnight emails (in our extra hour- daylight saving for the US Guys) is a mail from onlyyellow pages.com
I thought that the UK was covered by Yell.Com (and we all know how wonderfulnot they are) so who the heck are this mob?
The search facility on the link is rubbish www.only-united-kingdom.com/ and I get the feeling its not all Kosher.
Anyone else had this mail or worked out who they are?

[edited by: engine at 5:49 pm (utc) on Oct. 27, 2002]
[edit reason] de-linked [/edit]



WebmasterWorld Administrator engine us a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 10+ Year Member Top Contributors Of The Month

Msg#: 696 posted 5:48 pm on Oct 27, 2002 (gmt 0)

Hi Videoman,

I've come across them previously however, I can't say i've seen a single referral.

They call themselves "The World's #1 Business Directory" and I'd like to see some evidence from them to support that claim. There is no information on their site to suggest traffic or their status.

Some directories are a front to build marketing mailing lists, although I cannot be sure about this one.

Apparently, an entry is free. You could try it and see what happens as it may be just right for your type of business. Perhaps better than Essex Pages ;)


10+ Year Member

Msg#: 696 posted 5:54 pm on Oct 27, 2002 (gmt 0)

In my experience the referals are miniscule, but who knows it could help PR.


10+ Year Member

Msg#: 696 posted 4:11 pm on Oct 29, 2002 (gmt 0)

If I am reading my screen right then this site is a front.

A little like those domain parked sites you get which are full of PPC affiliate links, individually they perhaps only make a few $ out of click revenue but my guess is that the domain owner has thousands of domains just like this.

This site is a classic cobrand, there are another 1000+ sites that are identical to this and I mean identical, save for the name. The search content is probably some PPC affiliate feed. I doubt this site has any traffic to shout about. They make money in volume not by themselves.

Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  

Home / Forums Index / Search Engines / UK Search and Internet Marketing News
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved