IanTurner

msg:258091 | 11:28 am on Sep 6, 2004 (gmt 0) |
Our forum library links to this WebMasterWorld post with a great list of UK and IE directories. [webmasterworld.com...]
|
vaniaul

msg:258092 | 11:30 am on Sep 6, 2004 (gmt 0) |
Here's the URL you are looking for: [webmasterworld.com ] It contains all the Directories and Search Engines in U.K - more than 250. Hope it Helps! If you want further help you can revert back.
|
rj87uk

msg:258093 | 11:45 am on Sep 6, 2004 (gmt 0) |
Thanks :) I will go and try and get a few listings ;-)
|
Bobby_Davro

msg:258094 | 1:48 pm on Sep 6, 2004 (gmt 0) |
Directory.co.uk isn't a directory, as stupid as that sounds. It is a meta search engine with a large number of search results presented as static pages. Although your domain appears as a page URL, this won't have been deliberate; it will simply have been picked up as part of a much larger list of key phrases to automatically generate pages for. Directory.co.uk had over 350,000 pages in Google recently. However, it looks like it might be in trouble now because the front page has been de-cached and the number of pages included has dropped dramatically. Therefore I wouldn't worry about taking any action; it will be a pointless gesture soon.
|
rj87uk

msg:258095 | 8:50 pm on Sep 6, 2004 (gmt 0) |
I just found out that it wasnt a directory so to speak :) Buuut! On the subject anyway what do you make of 'directorys' SEO'in for your brand name and put payed listing above your own? Ive seen it a few times...
|
Bobby_Davro

msg:258096 | 10:42 pm on Sep 6, 2004 (gmt 0) |
You should always sit in the top few results (if not number one) for your own brand name in Google, so sites competing on that name shouldn't matter too much. It may be that they offer information, links or products that are similar or related to yours that users may find useful. People with trademarks and brands tend not to like it because they want exclusivity and all of the traffic associated with that search term. Users won't be so fussy and may in fact be searching for similar products or related information.
|
vaniaul

msg:258097 | 6:13 am on Sep 7, 2004 (gmt 0) |
Hi Bobby_Davro | Directory.co.uk had over 350,000 pages in Google recently. |
| Can you please let me know how to find out no. of pages of a particualr site in Google's index. 350, 000 is a huge amount... how can we find this out? Thanks in Advance Vani
|
rj87uk

msg:258098 | 8:30 am on Sep 7, 2004 (gmt 0) |
Try using the site:http://www.example.com Tool in Google. Bobby_Davro: I think my post was unclear, Im talking about in a Directory sponsored listings go in front of your own brand...
|
Bobby_Davro

msg:258099 | 11:57 am on Sep 7, 2004 (gmt 0) |
Well, the problem is that this will happen on any search engine when you search for your brand. Search engines and directories can't identify a search term as a brand name and alter their layout on the fly. The real issue is whether Google, Overture and the other PPC companies should be allowing companies to target your brand name. The big two are currently being sued for just this. The only reason that you noticed this on Directory.co.uk was that the site had a page in Google for your domain. You would get the same kind of results on any search engine or directory that uses PPC (i.e. all of them). ---------------------- To find out how many pages a site has in Google you should use something like this: site:example.co.uk keyword This will allow you to see all of the subdomain pages as well. You should also use a word that appears on every page of a site, such as "copyright" or "reserved". The reason for this is that Google has a lot of URLs in the index that aren't cached, so they don't generally appear in the SERPS. Hence they aren't pages that should count as indexed. Especially for larger sites, you will see a big difference in the numbers if you use a search word or not.
|
rj87uk

msg:258100 | 12:17 pm on Sep 7, 2004 (gmt 0) |
| The big two are currently being sued for just this. |
| Could you let us know who? - I would like to find out more :)
|
Bobby_Davro

msg:258101 | 1:29 pm on Sep 7, 2004 (gmt 0) |
[clickz.com...] [clickz.com...] It is for trademark infringement, rather than simply use of a brand name.
|
|