homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from 54.145.183.169
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Become a Pro Member

Home / Forums Index / Code, Content, and Presentation / WYSIWYG and Text Code Editors
Forum Library, Charter, Moderator: open

WYSIWYG and Text Code Editors Forum

    
Dreamweaver Template
dreamweaver template
lcampers

5+ Year Member



 
Msg#: 1280 posted 4:27 pm on Nov 5, 2005 (gmt 0)

Hi

I have a site that I recently updated the main template on and it didn't update all of the sites.

When I was re-editing my sites some of the pages needed to be cleaned up so I detached them from the template, cleaned them, and then uploaded them (the template looks like it's still there!).

Did this detach all the pages from the template updates?

Is there any way to reattach the templates without copying all of the editable region and then pasting it into a new template shell one by one?

As it is there is modify/attach but that just puts a new template around the old one.

Thanks for any help!

-LAN

 

DerekH

WebmasterWorld Senior Member 10+ Year Member



 
Msg#: 1280 posted 4:42 pm on Nov 6, 2005 (gmt 0)

I have a site that I recently updated the main template on and it didn't update all of the sites.

All of the sites? Do you mean all of the pages?
Sometimes when a changed template doesn't update all the files you expect, you need to prompt Dreamweaver to reapply the template - in my version of DW it's Modify/Templates/Update Pages

When I was re-editing my sites some of the pages needed to be cleaned up so I detached them from the template, cleaned them, and then uploaded them (the template looks like it's still there!).

Yes, it will look like the template is still there, but the file no longer contains template directives, template content and your page content, it only contains template content and your page markup. In a browser it will look identical, as the directives are styled as HTML comments. But it isn't identical - it has no directives.

Did this detach all the pages from the template updates?

It will detach all the pages you told it to.

Is there any way to reattach the templates without copying all of the editable region and then pasting it into a new template shell one by one?

No - the information about what goes where is lost - you removed it.
There *are* ways to reattach a template, but only if you roll up your sleeves and type the directives in by hand (or copy them from a page that still has the template attached).

As it is there is modify/attach but that just puts a new template around the old one.

Yes - if you have a file with template (a) attached, you can attach template (b) instead - each editable region is moved to the corresponding new place in the new template, and those that have no corresponding new place are offered to you to choose whether to move them to a different region, or to delete them.

DerekH

lcampers

5+ Year Member



 
Msg#: 1280 posted 12:34 am on Nov 9, 2005 (gmt 0)

just as i feared!

i never kept a record of which pages i detached and uploaded.... i guess they'll just be reattached when i find them (i think there are over 200!)

thanks for the info derek!

Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  
 

Home / Forums Index / Code, Content, and Presentation / WYSIWYG and Text Code Editors
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved