homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Become a Pro Member

Home / Forums Index / Yahoo / Deprecated - Altavista, Alltheweb.com
Forum Library, Charter, Moderator: open

Deprecated - Altavista, Alltheweb.com Forum

Could this be spyware on my system?
Redirected from alltheweb.com

 9:42 am on Jun 8, 2003 (gmt 0)

I just tried to go to alltheweb.com and was promtly redirected to http://landing.domainsponsor.com/?a_id=33&domainname=www.altheweb.com

This happened twice in a row! As soon as I arrivd at the redirect page, I got a pop up saying " Below are the top sites related to adult!" The third time I tried, Fast's site finally came up. What the heck is going on? Has Fast been hijacked, hacked or what?

[edited by: engine at 9:49 am (utc) on June 8, 2003]
[edit reason] de-linked [/edit]



 9:44 am on Jun 8, 2003 (gmt 0)

Seems fine here, Liane


 9:46 am on Jun 8, 2003 (gmt 0)

Spyware, dont ask me how to remove it though.



 9:52 am on Jun 8, 2003 (gmt 0)

... or http://landing.domainsponsor.com/?a_id=33&domainname=www.altheweb.com

pionts out that you could have spelt www.alltheweb.com as www.altheweb.com which does redirect you.



[edited by: engine at 9:55 am (utc) on June 8, 2003]
[edit reason] de-linked [/edit]


 9:52 am on Jun 8, 2003 (gmt 0)

When I posted the above message, I did not link to it using the [url]commands. I simply copied and pasted the url. However, on my machine, it is now showing as linked.

Do you have any idea what may be happening? Do I have some sort of weird bug in my computer that nobody else is seeing?

>added< Outrun, when I landed on that page, I immediately checked the spelling of the url, figuring I had made a boo in my typing. It was correct - both times. I find this very perplexing.


 10:07 am on Jun 8, 2003 (gmt 0)

Liane, unless you accidentally mistyped the url then you may have spyware on your system, as suggested by outrun (well done outrun, I didn't notice the mispelling). There used to be a similar one for altavista.

Do a site search here for spyware or scumware. There are also several tools to get rid of these persistent and annoying parasites.


 10:33 am on Jun 8, 2003 (gmt 0)

Thanks guys,

I tested several more times. I checked and rechecked the spelling. Out of 7 tests, I was redirected 3 times but landed on alltheweb.com 4 times. This I did using the back button (so did not retype the url).

I then tested 7 more times, each time typing in the url and checking the spelling before proceeding. Similar results.

I am looking into scumware. Its the only answer I can come up with. Thanks for the help.


 10:49 am on Jun 8, 2003 (gmt 0)

Did you check your sticky mail?


Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  

Home / Forums Index / Yahoo / Deprecated - Altavista, Alltheweb.com
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved