homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Pubcon Platinum Sponsor 2014
Visit PubCon.com
Home / Forums Index / Yahoo / Deprecated - Altavista, Alltheweb.com
Forum Library, Charter, Moderator: open

Deprecated - Altavista, Alltheweb.com Forum

FAST, PFI and spam

 12:23 pm on Jan 16, 2003 (gmt 0)

I recently lost all my positions in FAST for "their widgets". Upon investigation I found that there are 450 identical pages between my page and my old number three position.
These pages contain the title format: "keyword, get their widgets here".
and the text draw out of the site follows the format: "blurb about keywords and widgets."

Is there any way to find out if a page is PFI or not?
Should I notify FAST about this obvious spamming?
If so, how anonymous should I keep it? I hear that you can get penalised by reporting spam with certain search engines.

All advice is gratefully received.



 1:11 pm on Jan 16, 2003 (gmt 0)

E-mail the spam mail address with full details of the spam to FAST.

Include the search keywords and the URLs of the spammer.

FAST should then take action when they next update their database (they just did a new update on Monday).


 1:51 pm on Jan 16, 2003 (gmt 0)


Doesn't matter if it's PFI or not. If you feel there's a relevancy problem just fill out the form.


 2:08 pm on Jan 16, 2003 (gmt 0)

Hi Big Dug - Welcome to WebmasterWorld.

If you feel the pages should not be in the serps, fill out the form:

Remember, there's not much we can do about it here, but I certainly don't think that FAST will penalize your site. If it's relevant to the search terms and you havent used any tricks to manipulate the serps ;)

The FAST team are notorius for acting fast on these matters.

Good luck!

<added>heini beat me to it. Agreed, doesn't matter if it's PFI or not.</added>


 3:17 pm on Jan 16, 2003 (gmt 0)

Thanks for your replies.

The 450 pages are all just header redirects to the clients site. All this goes through a server called something along the lines of "Fast Redirect Server".

Looks like a case of SEO at its worst.

450 SERs of spam is the worst case I have ever seen. >:[]


 3:20 pm on Jan 16, 2003 (gmt 0)

Looks like a glitch, really. I'd definetly contact contact/relevancy.html

Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  

Home / Forums Index / Yahoo / Deprecated - Altavista, Alltheweb.com
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved