homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Become a Pro Member
Home / Forums Index / WebmasterWorld / Professional Webmaster Business Issues
Forum Library, Charter, Moderators: LifeinAsia & httpwebwitch

Professional Webmaster Business Issues Forum

My site is listed as a porn site! HELP!
and being blocked by several firewalls

 5:35 pm on Dec 19, 2001 (gmt 0)

Today I found out from a member on my site, that Netgear has listed my website as a porn site.

Considering that I have a total of 3 images in the whole web site, and the rest is pure text, it is a very very poor adult site.

On the serious side the Netgear DB gets distributed to several other vendors, and they will block access to my site.

Anyone had experience with such problem, and how did you resolve it?



 5:50 pm on Dec 19, 2001 (gmt 0)


Yes, I've had similar experiences, but not netgear (nor for porn, it was that open socket blacklist... can't recall the name). Most likely, you're going to have to contact netgear directly. The problem, as you suggest, is that you have to stop the distribution at the source.

While I'm not familiar with netgear, there are a few of these 'oversight' databases out there. Here's one that gives me problems [webmasterworld.com].


 7:04 pm on Dec 19, 2001 (gmt 0)

I tracked it a bit further through users and the list is actually CyberNOT from CyberPatrol aka Microsystems, Inc.
I have spent most of the morning tracking down a contact for them. I have an e-mail ( cybernot@microsys.com ) and a URL www.cyberpatrol.com/forms/siterev.asp to submit for removal.

I told them my site is ICRA rated through RSAC as n0 s0 v0 l0. Since the meta tag is in the header I am surprised (and @#$%@#$% ticked) that the site is even listed. This is NOT the SE I wanted to be in.

Here is a tidbit from their Support DB:
LittleBrother is blocking sites that should not be blocked.
There may be banner pages or links that force the user's machine to pull content from sites that are not denied lists.
At times it may appear that LittleBrother is blocking sites that should not be blocked. When a web page is accessed, it may force the user's machine to call other servers for data. Depending on the rules set, this may trigger a block. For example: www.yahoo.com has banners. While accessing yahoo.com, the html code may tell the user's machine to access a banner from monster.com. However, you are blocking job search sites. This will trigger a block."

This pretty much kills most advertising solution on the web. I am surprised CJ and LinkShare is not up in arms against this...


 12:44 am on Dec 20, 2001 (gmt 0)

Id just move it to a new domain name and put up a pron site.


 5:07 am on Dec 22, 2001 (gmt 0)

My ISP changed the IP address and the problem is gone, for now at least. Of course the ISP now has a stinky IP...


 10:44 pm on Dec 26, 2001 (gmt 0)

Ah well maybe they will use the IP for a adult site (: or hell a competitors site heheh

Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  

Home / Forums Index / WebmasterWorld / Professional Webmaster Business Issues
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved