mrMister

msg:753633 | 1:43 pm on Jun 8, 2005 (gmt 0) |
Who made the log spam request to your server? Are you sure it was a Google IP?
|
vabtz

msg:753634 | 1:47 pm on Jun 8, 2005 (gmt 0) |
Did you check the IP's to verify? I have been getting weird requests from googlebot lately too. Mine look the url of the page plus the url encoded keywords adsense displays appeneded on to it. so like this [exampledomain.com...]
|
kapow

msg:753635 | 5:06 pm on Jun 8, 2005 (gmt 0) |
| Are you sure it was a Google IP? |
| I don't know the IP. However I doubt if the 'bots' used to create log-spam are on that companies IP. Sure, I can accept that someone else 'could' do it, but there is little incentive for anyone else to 'promote' Google in this way. Does anyone else get log-spam from Google? (perhaps someone who knows more about IPs etc than me).
|
jomaxx

msg:753636 | 5:23 pm on Jun 8, 2005 (gmt 0) |
kapow, do you seriously believe Google are log spamming? Think it through. They INVENTED PageRank; it seems somewhat unlikely that they're spamming in order to build their own PR. They're probably the busiest website on the planet; don't you think they're past the point where they need to beg for visitors?
|
kwngian

msg:753637 | 5:37 pm on Jun 8, 2005 (gmt 0) |
I am also getting increasing amount of log spammers using google as referring url. Perhaps they were thinking if they do so, google will not be able to penalise (at least not via automated mode) log spammers' urls found in those stat reports available for public to view. Other than that, there is very little incentive for doing so.
|
vincevincevince

msg:753638 | 4:30 pm on Jun 9, 2005 (gmt 0) |
Bill: How can we automatically figure out the server admin's email address and server software? Bob: Well, if you request a domain from a server which isn't on that server then they tend to give you all the details for free. Bill: Okay, we'll ask for Google.com on every IP in the block.
|
Luddite

msg:753639 | 5:06 am on Jun 10, 2005 (gmt 0) |
>>kapow, do you seriously believe Google are log spamming?.... .....in order to build their own PR. Just for the hell of it, I checked - The almighty "G" has pagerank of 10 in all centres. Clearly their log-spamming campaign has paid off ;-)
|
py9jmas

msg:753640 | 5:37 am on Jun 10, 2005 (gmt 0) |
What you describe is also a valid way of checking for open proxies. If you request GET http_://www.google.com/ HTTP/1.0, and get back Google, you've found an open proxy. This is a far more likely explanation IMHO.
|
Sweet Cognac

msg:753641 | 11:19 am on Jun 10, 2005 (gmt 0) |
Interesting. Several months ago I added a php "Add your own Link" script to my site, and immediately after I uploaded it, this was submitted: Site Name: a Email: aa@a.com Title: Google URL: h ttp://www.google.com URL where my website can be found: h ttp://www.google.com/search?q=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.mysite.com%2FGoogle search engine I then recieved an email verifying it was submitted, and then 2 hrs later the submission disappeared from the page. (http's separated to prevent links) [webmasterworld.com...]
|
kapow

msg:753642 | 5:58 pm on Jun 13, 2005 (gmt 0) |
Re. Google PageRank - other search engines use various kinds of link-pop too, so I assumed Google were doing what what other log spammers do. However, as I said earlier I find it hard to believe Google would do this, but I have this stuff recently appearing in my request-report. | What you describe is also a valid way of checking for open proxies. If you request GET http_://www.google.com/ HTTP/1.0, and get back Google, you've found an open proxy. This is a far more likely explanation IMHO. |
| That seems more likely. Its not a referrer thing its a request thing i.e. my logs have always shown requests (not referrals) for ebay, yahoo and a bunch of other sites. I have always understood this to be 'log spam' where the spammers want links to their site to show up in your 'request report'. However perhaps this proxy thing sheds more light on the matter. There are probably lots of people here who understand this insideout. Can anyone explain a bit more about this?
|
activeco

msg:753643 | 6:12 pm on Jun 13, 2005 (gmt 0) |
Deleted, wrong time, sorry.
|
|