homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Become a Pro Member

Visit PubCon.com
Home / Forums Index / Google / Google SEO News and Discussion
Forum Library, Charter, Moderators: Robert Charlton & aakk9999 & brotherhood of lan & goodroi

Google SEO News and Discussion Forum

Does anybody know who is MobilePhone Googlebot?

 7:10 pm on Feb 28, 2005 (gmt 0)

Does anybody know who is Mozilla/4.0 (MobilePhone SCP-5500/US/1.0) NetFront/3.0 MMP/2.0 FAKE (compatible; Googlebot/2.1; +http://www.google.com/bot.html) from crawl-66-249-65-235.googlebot.com (
Is it a fake Googlebot or something really new?
Thanks in advance.



 5:40 pm on Mar 3, 2005 (gmt 0)



 5:44 pm on Mar 3, 2005 (gmt 0)



 5:45 pm on Mar 3, 2005 (gmt 0)

In short: no

Can you verify that the browser came from this IP


 7:42 pm on Mar 3, 2005 (gmt 0)

Oh, thanks, i see now...

How could i verify this?


 8:59 pm on Mar 3, 2005 (gmt 0)

That's what we've been trying to figure out over in that other thread. A post I made to GG never made it past the mods, so it's anyones guess right now.

I'm kinda, mind you kinda, leaning towards it being authentic.


 3:04 pm on Mar 24, 2005 (gmt 0)

A post I made to GG never made it past the mods

Well I think it would be nice to get an answer from GG on this. I just posted the following info in the other post .. I'll put it here just to be sure that we have more chance getting a response ;-).


Hi All,

Well .. this Googlebot is back in my site, it came by y'day looking for 3-4 pages, noe the UA is comming as:

Mozilla/4.0 (MobilePhone SCP-5500/US/1.0) NetFront/3.0 MMP/2.0 (compatible; Googlebot/2.1; +http://www.google.com/bot.html)

before it was:

Mozilla/4.0 (MobilePhone SCP-5500/US/1.0) NetFront/3.0 MMP/2.0 FAKE (compatible; Googlebot/2.1; +http://www.google.com/bot.html)

So.. note that everything is the same but the FAKE is not there this time.

Yesterday I was not worried beacuse it only requested for 3-4 pages, but today in a 4 hours period of time it requested > 3,000 pages ... yes, 3,000! that is too much for me, even regular Googlebot does not index my site that hard!

The IPs are and .. before (with the FAKE version) it was using only.

Anybody seeing the same behavior?

I was checking a little and it looks like it is following the links from my site map page. Other thing I noticed is that it is requesting the pages as http://www.mydomain.com/page.html and http://mydomain.com/page.html .. and as so far I know I have no incomming links without the www anywhere.

My concern is if it is a real Googlebot or if the case is that somebody from the other side is just getting all my content, it was fine when I got jut 3-4 hits, but 3,000 in 4 hours!? this is no a human being using a cellphone.



 6:47 pm on Mar 24, 2005 (gmt 0)

Did it request the robots.txt? This would be an indication...


 6:50 pm on Mar 24, 2005 (gmt 0)

Are these not just people using Google's WAP proxy?


 7:51 pm on Mar 24, 2005 (gmt 0)

did it request robots.txt

Yes, it did. And rigth after that it started requesting every page under http://mysite.com/... and under http://www.mysite.com/..., both.

Are not just cellphone users thru GG proxy?

That is what was thinking first, but now requesting more that 3,000 pages in a period of 4 hours and in the order of my site map page.. I don't think so.

In addition to that, today I did a little testing, I went to the:


page, and did a search for my site, then clicked one of the links to get the page and yes, it came under a gg proxy IP, which is none of the IPs that I have mentioned and using also a different UA.

IP was and UA DoCoMo/1.0/P502i/c10 (Google CHTML Proxy/1.0)

May be I'm using the wrong place to check, if anybody know another GG page that can be using the other UA and Proxys IPs please letme know.

Another thing is that in a revers DNS look up, the two IPs above resolve to crawl-###-###-###-###.googlebot.com (###-###-###-### = IP) and the last one from the imode GG page does not resolves. Anyway all of them belong to GG as per the ARIN info.

Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  

Home / Forums Index / Google / Google SEO News and Discussion
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved