homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Become a Pro Member
Home / Forums Index / Google / Google News Archive
Forum Library, Charter, Moderator: open

Google News Archive Forum

Reporting copyright infringement to Google?. Howdya do it?
What is the best email address to use for emailing Google

 6:33 pm on Apr 7, 2003 (gmt 0)


Found a competitor over the weekend that is "borrowed" most of their content (text and photos) from one of my sites. I sent them a to-the-point email requesting they remove the content and have not received a response.

So...I am going to send them a more detailed removal request and I want to copy their hosting company as well as Google. What is the best email address to use for Google?

Thanks in advance.



 6:41 pm on Apr 7, 2003 (gmt 0)

I agree that you would send them and possibly their host a cease and desist type letter, but what does Google have to do with it?


 6:44 pm on Apr 7, 2003 (gmt 0)

I guess I left out that they are advertising via Google Adwords. Also, even if they weren't advertising with Adwords, they are still in violation of the Google TOS since they are listed in the Google index.

Dr Greenthumb

 6:53 pm on Apr 7, 2003 (gmt 0)

if you have a lwyer send a letter they will remove them immediately no questions asked


 7:16 pm on Apr 7, 2003 (gmt 0)



 7:30 pm on Apr 7, 2003 (gmt 0)

Send an immediate cease & desist (C&D) letter to the infringer. Be sure to include the time/date you expect the content to be removed by, and that if it is not removed, you will take further action against him/her.

If the infringer doesn't remove it, contact the host. Many hosts will remove the content (and often the entire site) as it goes against the TOS the hosting client agreed to when signing up.


 7:32 pm on Apr 7, 2003 (gmt 0)

Thanks for the link Chris_R, that is the info I was looking for. I am going to start with their host company and go from there. Will probably be easier/quicker to get something done with their host company than with Google.


 8:01 pm on Apr 7, 2003 (gmt 0)

Some hosts are idiots - or are outside the US.

To see if the host complies with the DMCA - see:


This is also useful - as it will give you contact info that will get to the right person.

Some still will do it even if not listed.

Remember - they aren't REQUIRED to follow the DMCA takedown provisions, but if they do - they are immune from suit - hence many do.


 8:31 pm on Apr 7, 2003 (gmt 0)

Thanks for another great link. The host IS listed so hopefully I will be able to resolve this issue soon.

Thanks again.

cheater copperpot

 9:31 pm on Apr 7, 2003 (gmt 0)

I just discovered the same thing, except this person did an EXACT copy of my site. Yes an exact html copy over to their server. The domain name is the same as mine except with dashes (widgetfinder.com to widget-finder.com). All they did was change the affiliate links to thier own. This site required a ton of research and building and this a$$hole copy/pasted my exact HTML code. they even copied my copyright statement and put dashes in the domain when mentioned, gimme a break. Tried to email the guy but the email bounced. Got his phone # from whois info, i think im gonna have to give him a call.


 9:48 pm on Apr 7, 2003 (gmt 0)

Man copper, you have been ripped. Best of luck getting it resolved.

I am pretty easy to get along with but I don't have any patience for this kind of thing. We all work hard to provide our visitors orignal content and this really rubs me the wrong way.


 9:59 pm on Apr 7, 2003 (gmt 0)

Something else ~ some affiliate programs will deactivate affiliates who site-steal. Depends on the affiliate program though ~ some want to protect their valuable affiliates and will deactivate the infringers, while others only care about the bottom line and won't do a thing (or even encourage it).

A couple years ago I had this happen to me, and the affiliate program deactivated the account of the infringer, after the infringer refused to remove/change the content.


 10:35 pm on Apr 7, 2003 (gmt 0)

I love this sort of topic. I had to LMAO when I recently found a page with a nice little JavaScript screen resolution test that opened a window based on the URL and selected resolution. The hilarious part was that the stolen code still used my CSS and since the form background referenced an absolute URL on my site, it had a form background image with my logo scrolling across the input fields and submit button. Do I still have room to complain? Sure, I guess. After all, it is using my bandwidth. However, I still have to chuckle when it is so blatantly theft. I think it hurts them more than it will me.

Isn't it fun when you find thieves just by looking at your log files?

It could only be more fun if they denied it!



 10:37 pm on Apr 7, 2003 (gmt 0)

The fax number for Google DMCA complaints is (650) 618-1805, Attn: User Support, DMCA complaints.

cheater copperpot

 7:04 pm on Apr 8, 2003 (gmt 0)

Just sent a fax to this number.

I included my email in the letter, should i expect a response from google?


 7:18 pm on Apr 8, 2003 (gmt 0)

The DMCA requires those who want to seek protection under the provision to respond in a timely manner.

(I don't have it in front of me, but I think it's 48 hours)


 7:50 pm on Apr 8, 2003 (gmt 0)

Just out curiousity, how do you guys find those copycats out there? Search a string sentence that is currently in your site?


 8:38 pm on Apr 8, 2003 (gmt 0)

There are many tracking tools to help you monitor theft. For example, Digimarc offers a broad range of asset management and forensic tracking solutions.

In the case I mentioned here, I found the moron in my logs. They had an absolute link to my CSS and form field background image. It is truly unbelievable how many WYSIWYG "Webmasters" there are out there in cyberspace. I find my code all over the Web, and especially JavaScripts. Perhaps that is because those who have to steal them do not know how to re-author them to remove my identifying characteristics (such as my company initials throughout the code). Also, most WYSIWYG thieves don't notice things like transparent 1px spacer gifs, absolute URLs, image watermarking, and copyright.

I don't think there is a single image or script on our servers that a person could use and pull one over on me. Whether I drop the boom on them now, or later, it turns up eventually.


 8:49 pm on Apr 8, 2003 (gmt 0)

I found out because they are bidding on the same keywords as I am in Adwords.

Pretty stupid on their part if you ask me. Steal my content then advertise it right where they should know I would be looking.


 8:50 pm on Apr 8, 2003 (gmt 0)

Google will email you with a status update within a few days.

cheater copperpot

 9:55 pm on Apr 8, 2003 (gmt 0)

I found this jerk by searching for "widgetfinder", the name of my site.. he was at #3 under my 1st 2 pages. hey at least i got em beat in the serps.

BTW i have already received a response from google. I have to send another fax to them in a certain format. Thanks for the help guys, ill keep ya posted..

Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  

Home / Forums Index / Google / Google News Archive
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved