homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Become a Pro Member
Visit PubCon.com
Home / Forums Index / WebmasterWorld / Domain Names
Forum Library, Charter, Moderators: buckworks & webwork

Domain Names Forum

The Domain Support Group
Anyone getting calls from them?

 4:50 pm on Jan 29, 2002 (gmt 0)

Just got a call from DomainSupportGroup.net asking for me to confirm registration info on domains in Verisigns database and informing me that the .info version of some domains is available (only a few months late to the party).

On the site it says "Domain Support Group is a response center." What the heck is that? It's got links to all kinds of ICANN stuff, anyone know what this is? Is it affiliated with ICANN or some other domain name governing body?



 5:16 pm on Jan 29, 2002 (gmt 0)

Sounds like a good mailing list scam to me. What info did you give/comfirm to them?


 6:18 pm on Jan 29, 2002 (gmt 0)

sounds like something i should belong to...

a support group for domain-name-buying addicts.


 10:42 pm on Jan 29, 2002 (gmt 0)

Didn't give em' anything. They started by asking to confirm the admin information in a domain record and said they needed that to do something or other. It was important that they get this information before putting me through to my "account manager" who would be happy to answer any questions and clear everything up. Account manager, huh?

Asked them who they were, what they wanted, and it's still unclear.

It seemed they were calling to provide the option of taking the .info version of a .com domain already owned, but they didn't seem to be a registrar.

Very confusing.


 10:46 pm on Jan 29, 2002 (gmt 0)

A few years back I actually got calls from Verisign asking me to host my website with them. I purchased my domain through Network Solutions.. Years ago mind you....


 11:22 pm on Jan 29, 2002 (gmt 0)

DomainSupportGroup.net's WHOIS record leads to "511 Avenue of the Americas #60, NY, NY", which I'm guesing is just a mailbox. They're DNS is through dreamlabs.com, which has nothing on its homepage except an address in Toronto, Ontario. Toronto, for those of you who don't know, is well on its way to becoming the boiler room capital of North America.

So, it sounds to me like a telemarketer was trying to fast-talk you into registering the .info to match your domain name.
Congratulations on not falling for it.

DomainSupportGroup.net is doubtless a reseller for a registrar who doesn't know (or doesn't care) about the telemarketing angle. All the links to ICANN (on the DomainSupportGroup.net homepage) are just a cheap attempt to make themselves look official.

I've seen other telemarketers try this kind of scam before when I worked for a registrar. .info and .biz continue to bring out the worst in capitalists.

They don't even need a business deal with Verisign to pull this off: They just download the Zone File to get a list of potential targets, then have a script run WHOIS to get some phone numbers.


 7:41 pm on Apr 11, 2002 (gmt 0)

Domain Support Group - it certainly sounds like Domain Support Scam to me. I got a FAX from them today with a lot of legal sounding small print and messages implying that someone was trying to register our .com. It turned out to be a boiler room operation in NY trying to sell me the .info domain for $300, $ 250, $175... When I started pushing to know why I should not consider them a scam, they hung up.

I hope I didn't hurt their feelings.


 9:56 pm on Apr 11, 2002 (gmt 0)

yeah, I got a call from that place. I was very amused.

Wow, someone calling me to talk about domains. There is something I don't know a lot about. :)

I said, "yes, how can I help you. Oh, my dot info is available, What is a dot info?"

Reply, "well, you have the first right to register your dot info before someone else does."

me, "I do, wow. How much?"

reply, "It is only $35, but you have to register it quick. I will forward you to your account manager"

me, "Ok, that sounds good."

account manager, "Hello, I am ____, I will be be your account manager. I can register your dot info domain for you before someone else does. I just need your credit card."

me, "So you want to help me register ******.info?"

AC, "yes! .... wait, I am sorry but someone already owns it."

me, "But I thought I had first right on it"

AC, "I am sorry, I don't know we got your number." click!


 9:58 pm on Apr 11, 2002 (gmt 0)

hahahah very amusing story :) id call em back and tell them you have a domain name they may want - they have the rights to it ;)


 5:25 pm on Apr 17, 2002 (gmt 0)

I have a Domain name that is redirected to a Free Server. I went to a website that checks a website when you type in the url of that website and tells you if the Title, MetaKey words & MetaDescription is correct and it said none showed up. I then typed in the regular URL that came with the server and it showed up as being OK and passed the test. Does anyone have any ideas why it can't see anything when I type in the Domain name? The regular url is [crystal-aura.0catch.com...] and my domain is [crystal-aura.com....] Could someone please tell me why [crystal-aura.com...] shows nothing and how I can fix it?


Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  

Home / Forums Index / WebmasterWorld / Domain Names
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved