homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Become a Pro Member
Home / Forums Index / WebmasterWorld / Domain Names
Forum Library, Charter, Moderators: buckworks & webwork

Domain Names Forum

Network Solutions sells its database
On your mark, get set, go!

 11:59 am on Feb 16, 2001 (gmt 0)

“Available for the first time ever. Approximately 6 million unique customers, sliced and diced for you to target prospects, learn about a specific audience or retain customers ... Take this information and run with it.”

Story here [msnbc.com]



 8:16 pm on Feb 16, 2001 (gmt 0)

*sigh* Here comes the spam. I can't imagine people are going to be happy with this.



 10:51 pm on Feb 16, 2001 (gmt 0)

I'll certainly never register a domain name with them again. I'm writing them an email (not that it will do any good) letting them know that not only will I be boycotting their registration services from now on, but as a web designer I will inform all my clients of their data selling practices and strongly urge all of them to go elsewhere for their registration as well.

Now, if I did some hellaciously high-volume business, they might pause for a split-nanosecond upon reading that... LOL. But hey, gives me a good excuse to go vent some nameless frustration at a deserving target!


 11:41 pm on Feb 16, 2001 (gmt 0)

>Here comes the spam. I can't imagine people are going to be happy with this.

They have been spamming for months! I'm sure I'm not the only person getting them. One for each domain name. The last bunch was announcing that I can buy .net and .org domains to match my .com ones. I got more than 75 of those spam-mails.

As far as I'm concerned, this is just continuing their totally mercenary tactics which indicate they've NEVER had anything in mind other than their own pockets.


 7:18 pm on Feb 17, 2001 (gmt 0)

I just got a telephone call from a telemarketer (ie offline spammer) who started their spiel with "you are the owner of <company name> dot com aren't you?"

And of coarse I hit this button on a little 'bot gadget I got at K-mart for my phone that takes over and tells them I don't accept telemarketer calls, and to remove me from their list.

I know telemarketers can go to whois and get the information to annoy me, but could it be that Network Solutions sold a list on CD or something so these phone spammers could feed it right into their autodialers?

Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  

Home / Forums Index / WebmasterWorld / Domain Names
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved