| Okay - THIS is a problem! Can't get WHOIS info....
|
vkaryl

msg:698731 | 1:41 am on Jul 7, 2004 (gmt 0) | Here's the text of the message I get when I try to access ANY potential domain name, if it shows as "taken" and I click "WHOIS": REGISTRAR: NETWORKSOLUTIONS.COM Welcome to the Network Solutions Registrar WHOIS Server. The IP address from which you have visited the Network Solutions Registrar WHOIS database is contained within a list of IP addresses that may have failed to abide by Network Solutions' WHOIS policy. Failure to abide by this policy can adversely impact our systems and servers, preventing the processing of other WHOIS requests. To see the Network Solutions WHOIS Policy, click on or copy and paste the following URL into your browser: [netsol.com...] If you feel that you have received this message in error, please contact us at 1-888-642-9675, (703)-742-0914, or via e-mail at: whoisquery@networksolutions.com YOUR IP address is ** (and it IS my IP addy, or one of the various "rotating" ones that happen....) What BALONEY. My ISP says this is silly, they've never been notified that they "failed to abide by Network Solutions' WHOIS policy". So what can I do here? I really do NOT want to do the "lay in wait, amubush the losers" routine....
|
pageoneresults

msg:698732 | 1:50 am on Jul 7, 2004 (gmt 0) | Could it be possible that someone else within that IP range has abused the NetSol policy? Maybe NetSol banned the entire block instead of the individual IP? Just guessing...
|
vkaryl

msg:698733 | 2:00 am on Jul 7, 2004 (gmt 0) | Well, I did ask that question of the techies as well, and their answer was "if that happened we wouldn't necessarily know, or have any way of fixing it." AAAAUUUUGGGGGGHHHHHHHHH!
|
vkaryl

msg:698734 | 2:09 am on Jul 7, 2004 (gmt 0) | por: ah.... THIS is interesting.... If you insert one domain name, or fifty, in the "search a group of domains" box, you do NOT get any dreck at all. You just get a list of which extensions are available for any/all of the list. Sheesh. Whacked.
|
edit_g

msg:698735 | 2:17 am on Jul 7, 2004 (gmt 0) | | Well, I did ask that question of the techies as well, and their answer was "if that happened we wouldn't necessarily know, or have any way of fixing it." |
| You'd think that they would notice though, eh?
|
vkaryl

msg:698736 | 2:25 am on Jul 7, 2004 (gmt 0) | edit_g: I would, simply because they are NOT the biggest whale in the pond. Yes, they have nationwide free access numbers (even one in the area in which I live - 20 million acres, maybe 100k people), but they really are NOT a mega-player. They OUGHT to know this sort of thing....
|
GeorgeGG

msg:698737 | 2:44 am on Jul 7, 2004 (gmt 0) | My whois page is blocked also, you have to wait 24 hours and your ip address to be dropped from the block list. Likewise my page will be down until my ISP's address is dropped from the block list :( GeorgeGG <Sorry, no email quotes. See TOS [webmasterworld.com]> [edited by: tedster at 9:01 pm (utc) on July 7, 2004]
|
vkaryl

msg:698738 | 3:01 am on Jul 7, 2004 (gmt 0) | Like I said. Baloney. Try what I did, using the "group" box.... [BTW, I am NOT trying to buy up domains wholesale. I am trying to find a domain name based on a particular "root" word which has both .com and .net available. There are a lot of potential combinations.... but the "search a group of domains" box seems to be working for now.]
|
|
|