homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Pubcon Platinum Sponsor 2014
Home / Forums Index / Marketing and Biz Dev / Cloaking
Forum Library, Charter, Moderator: open

Cloaking Forum

New Googlebot IP? Or competitor spoofing user_agent?
This is wierd

10+ Year Member

Msg#: 578 posted 1:47 pm on Mar 25, 2004 (gmt 0)

My spider watching script sent me an email this morning that Googlebot visited with a new IP:

Arin.Net shows this for the new IP:
OrgName: Cable & Wireless

Which leads me to believe it's a competitor checking to see if I'm stupid enough to cloak by user_agent.
(I'm not!)

BUT, and here's the wierd part...
When I search for a legitmate Googlebot IP, like:
Arin.net returns:
Cable & Wireless SC3-1 (NET-64-68-64-0-1) -
Google Inc. EC12-1-GOOGLE (NET-64-68-80-0-1) -

Does Google buy bandwidth from Cable & Wireless?
Or what the heck is the deal?

I don't want to miss any Googlebot IPs, but I also don't want to add a bogus IP to my database that let's imposters seew what we're doing.

Ideas from people smarter than I am?


PS: While Googlebot (the real one) usually grabs my robots.txt file and then my homepage

this new spider grabbed my robots.txt file and then one other page, but not my homepage ("/").



10+ Year Member

Msg#: 578 posted 2:21 pm on Mar 25, 2004 (gmt 0)

Yes afaik that is a googlebot ip.


10+ Year Member

Msg#: 578 posted 2:46 pm on Mar 25, 2004 (gmt 0)


How can you be sure?
An Arin lookup shows the IP address belonging to:
" Cable & Wireless "

And GoogleBot's block only goes from: -

which does NOT incllude:

Help me out here.
How did you deduce this is a legitimate GoogleBot IP address?
I've been tracking these for years, and I've never seen this IP Address before.

Thank You VERY Much for Your Help,

Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  

Home / Forums Index / Marketing and Biz Dev / Cloaking
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved