homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Become a Pro Member

Visit PubCon.com
Home / Forums Index / Marketing and Biz Dev / Link Development
Forum Library, Charter, Moderators: martinibuster

Link Development Forum

They keep writing me

 2:40 pm on Aug 25, 2003 (gmt 0)

I keep getting emails from a representative of Link-builder.com that wants to offer me link exchanges with an undisclosed client of theirs.

Does anybody here know link-builder.com?
Are they reaching out after my hard earned PR? :-)



 3:11 pm on Aug 25, 2003 (gmt 0)

Be wary of any link plan that looks too organized. Any hint of participating in a link farm could cause a problem. Having said that, I don't know what the firm in question does. There was a report a while back from someone here who found a reasonable link partner with decent PR after a contact like this.

I followed up on one myself last month (I don't remember if it was from this firm), and found that my link would be sharing the page with a bunch of dicey looking web hosting firms and other off-topic links. I didn't pursue it.


 4:19 pm on Aug 28, 2003 (gmt 0)

I just got one too. I'll be damned if I'll respond.

Unless Agent X wants to be up front in their initial email it's a 1-0 for the trashcan...



 4:24 pm on Aug 28, 2003 (gmt 0)

I have had a couple of those to. The way I look at it is... If the site owner is to lazy to look for links on their own then i'm to lazy to link to them. or reply for that matter.



 9:05 pm on Aug 28, 2003 (gmt 0)

Ive had several and replied to them all asking them to say more....no replies yet.



 4:24 pm on Aug 30, 2003 (gmt 0)

I don't think it's good to use web based programs like that or any other softwares like Z... or A......! People don't like 'em any more and I have read in teh forums here that somebody from UK got his website suspended by his HOST because he used Z....! He just sent 10 emails and 1 of them complained to spamcop!

SO BEWARE. Quick Link Building especially when it is automated, is NO GOOD.


 2:03 am on Sep 2, 2003 (gmt 0)

I have been doing some research on these sites lately, that one is a program which gets your money, then trys to find sililar sites to put on your links page. Nothing but a service to find sililar links they can sell on this program. My basic oppinion is its a waste of time, all you get is a link on a links pages on a few other so so sites. Does very little good, if any. Could even hurt ya, in fact a good chance at that. They won't do the research you would. They don't care how well these sites link to you or if its the right site. Its definately on the wrong place on the site for any reason. Besides, good traffic very rarely comes from a plain links page.

Don't waste your money.


 6:54 am on Sep 22, 2003 (gmt 0)

I just got one of Link-builder.com's obscure emails and the approach they take seems ridiculously convoluted. I can't believe anyone bothers responding to their obscure emails.

Also I'm amused to see that as expert link builders Google shows they have no pages linking to them & they have a PR 0.

Notice they specifically don't disclose their contact details. The reason they give for this is to "avoid lawsuits from individuals that believe their propose in life is to rid the world of SPAMers".

Yeah, right.


 7:12 am on Sep 22, 2003 (gmt 0)

they go straight into the trash


 4:03 am on Sep 27, 2003 (gmt 0)

Good question. I have gotten some of those emails too. I even sent a message back for more details-never got a response. Like everyone else said-be wary!


 8:37 pm on Sep 29, 2003 (gmt 0)

Just thought I'd let you all know, there's another one of those deceptive services you will be seeing in your inbox soon. I got an email from VerifyURL touting their services. They seem to be branding themselves as a bridge between webmasters and SE's. When you do a Google search they aren't there, and they have only a few links on their entire 'expertly designed' site.

As well as this, you will told that you have been pre-selected for inclusion in their listings. Yeah, whatever ..... trashed!

Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  

Home / Forums Index / Marketing and Biz Dev / Link Development
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved