homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Become a Pro Member
Home / Forums Index / Yahoo / Yahoo Publisher Contextual Advertising Network
Forum Library, Charter, Moderator: open

Yahoo Publisher Contextual Advertising Network Forum

  posting off  
Yahoo! Publisher Network Beta User Survey

 12:20 am on Feb 8, 2006 (gmt 0)

I just recieved an email from YahooResearch@evansres.com telling me that they want me to take a survey about YPN by February 15, 2006. It appears legit, however the only thing that gives me doubt is the domain evansres.com that the email came from.

I haven't clicked any links in the email as they appear to have tracking codes in them.

Has anyone else recieved an email like this?



 9:11 am on Feb 8, 2006 (gmt 0)

yes I also recieved a email from yahoo publisher asking me to fill out a survey also and I did, I did not see any problem with the survey.


 9:42 am on Feb 8, 2006 (gmt 0)

Evansres.com is an online Survey Company. It is often easier to outsource survey taking to another company that already has the TECHNOLOGY. Evansres.com will then compile the results(or use raw data) and send them off to yahoo.
Only worry if e-mails(or links from emails) ask for vital private information like user ids and passwords.


 10:52 am on Feb 8, 2006 (gmt 0)

Only worry if e-mails(or links from emails) ask for vital private information like user ids and passwords

Well call me paranoid then but a yahoo survey coming from a domain other than yahoo definitely makes me do a little further investigation.

As Flash said, there was tracking code in the link. I wasn't about to click it to find out what else they wanted.

I fired off a quick email to yahoo support. Since everybody else is apparently getting it I'm guessing it's legit.


 1:37 pm on Feb 8, 2006 (gmt 0)

I received the survey invitation also. After investigating the Evans Research Associates website, I see no reason not to respond.


 4:35 pm on Feb 8, 2006 (gmt 0)

I actually admire Yahoo for using exisiting technology from another company. They could have taken team members off of working on giving us targeted ads or going international to create a PHP survey or something and that would have been hours(if not days) lost creating a better YPN network.

The evansres.com looks quite legit. The tracking code I'm sure is to keep people from answering multiple surveys and making sure you were actually invited to participate in the survey. The only other information it could have given was your E-mail/ip address and they already had that. Tkae off the tin foil hats people it is ok.


 5:07 pm on Feb 8, 2006 (gmt 0)

The company is legit, but how do you know that Yahoo initiated the request for the survey ;)


 8:15 pm on Feb 8, 2006 (gmt 0)

I took the survey, nothing in it to worry about.


 9:03 pm on Feb 8, 2006 (gmt 0)

It's good to know that many people think the survey is legit.

The reason I posted this was to confirm that others had been recieving similar requests.

TooMuch, I wouldn't dream of giving my YPN user id or password on any site, other than Yahoo.com with SSL encryption.

Although I felt that the survey was most likely initiated by Yahoo, I couldn't rule out the fact that someone had made a malicious program to hunt the net for sites with YPN ads and send them phony emails. And by clicking the link, I'd be suscribing myself to 1000s of spam lists, or worse, jeapordizing my YPN account.

You might call me paranoid, but as the saying goes, "Better safe than sorry!". Especially when it comes to stuff like my income.

Anyway, I'll probably take the survey now. Thanks guys! :D

Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  

Home / Forums Index / Yahoo / Yahoo Publisher Contextual Advertising Network
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved