homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Become a Pro Member
Home / Forums Index / Yahoo / Yahoo Publisher Contextual Advertising Network
Forum Library, Charter, Moderator: open

Yahoo Publisher Contextual Advertising Network Forum

  posting off  
Is This Yahoo Email Invite For Real?
Kinda skeptical

 9:00 pm on Oct 26, 2005 (gmt 0)

Now if I could actually find a support email address on Yahoo's site, I would simply ask them. Why do they make it so hard to contact them?

I applied for the Yahoo Publisher network a couple months ago, with no response from them.

Today, I get this:

<snipped invitation email>

There is a link in the email, but when I mouse over it, it shows something a little different than the displayed link.
Always cause for concern, in my book.
It's supposedly a unique url, just for me, and it expires in 7 days.
A little creepy when I see that.
It could be real...OR?

[edited by: Woz at 12:38 am (utc) on Oct. 27, 2005]
[edit reason] No email quotes please, see TOS#9 [/edit]



 9:40 pm on Oct 26, 2005 (gmt 0)

sounds real to me


 9:43 pm on Oct 26, 2005 (gmt 0)

Yeah, so do the eBay and PayPal "account suspension" emails.
My buddy almost got taken for big dough on one recently.
His bank denied a request for withdrawl from Romania.

Found some support forms on the Yahoo! site.
It's the "publish.publisher.yahoo...." part that causes me to wonder.


 12:08 am on Oct 27, 2005 (gmt 0)

Funny that you mention, the lack of a support email on the Yahoo site, because I was amazed at how prominently the contact information was placed in the account page (after you login). Google has an email for you, but YPN has a real working support phone number and an email address!

But I guess they don't want too many people emailing them asking questions about the network or requesting invitations.

I'd give you the URL of the support form, but you have to be logged in to access it.

But just to clear things up the "publish.publisher.yahoo.com" part of the email is totally normal. It's what my invite email was from as well. In addition my email was from email@publish.publisher.yahoo.com, and it was Reply-to info@publish.publisher.yahoo.com, just like yours.

So it looks legit to me, based on the where the email was sent from. Good luck getting things straightened out.


 12:12 am on Oct 27, 2005 (gmt 0)

I ended up going slowly through, and have become a new member.
Now I'm in the same boat as every other new user.
No ads, and after reading- I expect to see my loan/credit card ads shortly...LOL

Hey, Travel is one of my niches and I Targeted it.
We'll see!


 1:10 am on Oct 27, 2005 (gmt 0)

I got one today too. My server verified it was from Yahoo so it is legit.





 1:48 am on Oct 27, 2005 (gmt 0)

Sounds real. I know a few other people who received their invites today. Good stuff - you will enjoy it ;)


 2:57 am on Oct 27, 2005 (gmt 0)

Yep, its real. Got one myself today.

Good timing, but unfortunately for us, we're not a US based business, even though we target the US and have a TIN / US bank accounts.

Oh well... this time next year.


 1:25 am on Oct 28, 2005 (gmt 0)

So far, I'm not seeing any income (or clicks), though it's early in the game.
I used the Targeting feasture for the first day- until it got up to speed for contextual ads.
Seems very similar to adsense- we'll see if the $ is similar soon enough.


 2:53 am on Oct 28, 2005 (gmt 0)

To be honest, I don't like the targeting feature.

I signed up before that feature was available, so I had to wait a few days for my ads to appear, but now their dead-on and are converting wonderfully!

Once the Ad Targeting feature came out, I selected my site(s) niche, which is health, and within a few days I was getting generic online drug store ads. After that I removed the Ad Targeting and haven't used it on any other site since.

The moral: Once you have an ad placement/color scheme/ad targetting that is working for you, don't get greedy and try to find a better way to target ads or a better color scheme.

Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  

Home / Forums Index / Yahoo / Yahoo Publisher Contextual Advertising Network
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved