homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Become a Pro Member
Home / Forums Index / Search Engines / Search Engine Spider and User Agent Identification
Forum Library, Charter, Moderators: Ocean10000 & incrediBILL

Search Engine Spider and User Agent Identification Forum

kore wa, nani? (= what's this?)

 6:42 am on May 21, 2003 (gmt 0)

I just got a hit from "wizard.dataforce.net". User-agent string is "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 5.5; Windows 98)" which looks a little too nice and neat (and outdated) to be anything but a bot. But what bot?

All it did was grab my most popular page (the one all the SE's are hitting this month, baby :) and left. It did not ask for robots.txt.

I couldn't find any info about it on Google, except that it appears in a lot of server logs.



 12:06 pm on May 21, 2003 (gmt 0)

You didn't provide an IP "" which is most helpful.

A Netherlands based site with a Russian Registrant.

The name sticks on the end of my tongue and yet the recollection fails me.
I've looked in my files an not able to find anything.
the Domain name redirects to a Russian site.

Unless you have any benefit for that traffic?
Why allow those visitors?


 7:50 am on May 22, 2003 (gmt 0)

Sorry, I just used that because the domain name resolved. It's not harming me, so why block it? I was just wondering what the heck it was.


 7:43 pm on May 23, 2003 (gmt 0)

It is a real Russian provider. This host can be used by any of his clients. I think, it can be a robot that search for something at your site :-)

Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  

Home / Forums Index / Search Engines / Search Engine Spider and User Agent Identification
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved