homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Become a Pro Member
Visit PubCon.com
Home / Forums Index / Search Engines / Search Engine Spider and User Agent Identification
Forum Library, Charter, Moderators: Ocean10000 & incrediBILL

Search Engine Spider and User Agent Identification Forum

QuePasaCreep v0.9.13 from ipa
new semi-bogus spider?

 2:00 am on Apr 27, 2003 (gmt 0)

i've been hit moderately heavily by this over the last week.
i've never heard of it before, and considering that it's
requesting all links -- including mailto: links ;-) -- i
think it will probably fall nicely into most spider traps.

just fyi..



 3:03 am on Apr 27, 2003 (gmt 0)

Welcome to Webmaster World.
Thanks for the heads up.

I tried a google on the UA and it only returuned three hits. Surprising all with the same 130. IP..
Tried some variations of the UA by adding the word software with no success.

Que Pas is Spanish and according to a translation means "as it passes,"
hoefully it has passed right over me ;)



 3:21 am on Apr 27, 2003 (gmt 0)

Que Pas
a (Kay Pasa) According to Altavista's translation service means: "That It happens", but I recall something along the lines of a greeting.




 3:24 am on Apr 27, 2003 (gmt 0)

que pasa (kay pah-sah). idiomatically, 'what's going on, man?'

it's the 'creep' part of the name that's interesting. :-)


 3:26 am on Apr 27, 2003 (gmt 0)

Yeahhhh, that's it.

Creep, crawl, grub, scrape, they all have a certain negative connotation to them.



 12:19 am on May 3, 2003 (gmt 0)

Better: it hasn't a reverse DNS:

[rlm@abu data]$ host
Host not found: 3(NXDOMAIN)

... and it hasn't a WHOIS entry:

[rlm@abu data]$ whois
[Querying whois.arin.net]
[Redirected to rwhois.llnw.net:4321]
[Querying rwhois.llnw.net]
[Unable to connect to remote host]

Fancy that. It's at llnw.net -- Lawrence Livermore Labs. Slimebags don't have to be responsible for their ubercrawler. We've blocked the suckers at the firewall.


 7:35 pm on May 7, 2003 (gmt 0)

I have a redirect from /foo.html to /FOO.html on my server. This spider doesn't handle it correctly and just keeps requesting /foo.html It doesn't even seem to detect the recursive redirect it gets into. If anybody wants to write a spider trap.... It is rerequesting at a rate of about two per second.


 6:57 pm on May 9, 2003 (gmt 0)

I had it from
what resolves to Quepasa.com, Inc. LLNW-64-208-64-192 (NET-64-208-64-192-1).
And voila: www.quepasa.com is a Latin American SE.


 9:34 pm on May 12, 2003 (gmt 0)

Just visited me from, Limelight Networks in AZ. Odd...


 1:08 am on May 13, 2003 (gmt 0)

Just visited me from, Limelight Networks in AZ. Odd...

Not odd at all. Limelight Networks (Phoenix, AZ) is the "LLNW" ID that you see in the above message posted by HandwovenRug.


 8:31 am on May 20, 2003 (gmt 0)

It came visiting today, only hit my home page so I guess I didn't feed it right.

check out the tool I manage my logs with at [sourceforge.net...]

I'd like to know who it's from!


 10:41 am on Jun 20, 2003 (gmt 0)

Has hit from the following IP's...


 2:29 pm on Jul 10, 2003 (gmt 0)

Hi All,

QUePasa hit me today, but only for robots.txt and my index page. Just in case someone was wondering if it even checks robots.txt. Hard to say if it follows what it sees there since it just spidered index and left. For what its worth, it didn't fall into my spider trap.

Sarahk, your script looks cool. I'm gonna give it a try.



 9:54 pm on Jul 10, 2003 (gmt 0)

Yeah hit me today to, checked the robots.txt file and went for an index file, but funnily not my front page one. Instead, it was the main page of the site. as others have seen.



 1:06 am on Jul 11, 2003 (gmt 0)

don't know why I didn't find this before but check out


in english and spanish.

I guess it finds the meta tag:
<meta http-equiv="content-language" content="EN">

and moves on as it is for the hispanic community in America.

I've registered. Can't be many who do because I actually got my sarahk username! Aaah, it's pay per click. Doesn't even give you a positive balance to get started - ie to see if it's worth throwing money at.

I won't be bothering. Still at least it's not malicious!


 1:14 pm on Jul 11, 2003 (gmt 0)

Just spotted QuePasaCreep v0.9.14 from


 3:53 am on Jul 31, 2003 (gmt 0)

I checked my logs and found user-agent QuepasaCreep had visited on nearly 80% of the days this month (July '03), taking between 10 to 20 pages per day.
Coming from, Limelight Networks in Arizona. It took 198 files this month, which doesn't seem too onerus.

This frequency and behavior and seemed similar to the Yandex spider ( Russian search engine ), so that seems consistent with QuepasaCreep being from a Latin American search engine.


 9:01 am on Jul 31, 2003 (gmt 0)

Hello. I'm from Argentina and I think I could help on this.

"que pasa" means "what goes on?"if interrogative, but I think it's intended to regard "(this is) What is happening", as an actuality information.

My english is pretty bad, but I will try to translate the "quepasa" corporate information

"Desde sus inicios, quepasa ha tenido como base de operaciones la ciudad de Phoenix, Arizona y ahora opera oficinas en algunas áreas de México y el resto de Latinoamérica."

Since its beginnings, quepasa had its headquarters in Phoenix, Arizona, and now it's operating some offices in the Mexico City area and the rest of Latin America.


It appears to be a US Search Engine mainly focused on spanish - latin people.

Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  

Home / Forums Index / Search Engines / Search Engine Spider and User Agent Identification
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved