homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Become a Pro Member
Visit PubCon.com
Home / Forums Index / Search Engines / Search Engine Spider and User Agent Identification
Forum Library, Charter, Moderators: Ocean10000 & incrediBILL

Search Engine Spider and User Agent Identification Forum

New spider ?

 6:40 pm on Oct 20, 2000 (gmt 0)

I've just been spidered on "burst mode" by this agent..

IP: User Agent : MIIxpc/4.2

This IP belongs to Mirror-Image Internet, a company which seems to be working on content delivery. Among it's partners is Alta and Inktomi. Any clue about this spider ?




 9:32 pm on Oct 20, 2000 (gmt 0)

[www1.inktomi.com ]
Looks like it might be a pre-caching bot for networks.
"Mirror Image Internet, Inc. eliminates the "world wide wait" by providing
content delivery network services that result in faster Internet content
distribution and improved quality of service, delivering significant cost savings
for all Internet Service Providers, Content Providers, and enterprises. By
deploying an open standards network of highly scalable content delivery nodes
at key Internet exchange points around the world, Mirror Image adds a new,
high-speed, infrastructure layer on top of the Internet. This broad global
network intelligently stores content closer to the end user, and powers Mirror
Image's family of instaDelivery Internet Services. In addition, with cross
connectivity into key points of the Internet infrastructure, Mirror Image
enables fast delivery of 75% of all Internet traffic to millions of end users
worldwide - at rates of up to ten times faster than traditional traffic flow...."
And blahh blahh blahh...

Tell me though, why would you have a pre-cashing bot with a user agent like that?

Here is their home site [mirror-image.com].


 9:57 am on Oct 22, 2000 (gmt 0)

arriving without a refering URL,
This visitor used Marvin v0.3.



 8:07 pm on Oct 22, 2000 (gmt 0)

could this be a shadow bot?



 8:15 pm on Oct 22, 2000 (gmt 0)

Naw, Marvin is a very old bot, (gee sounds like a limerick), anyway can't remember the details on it but it was in just about everyone's logs a few years ago. I'll post details as soon as I get a chance to go through my notes.

Actually it still shows up a lot, I use it in searches when I want to get url's to peoples logs so that I can compare entries from a large sample of logs.


 9:54 pm on Oct 22, 2000 (gmt 0)

Ok here's what my notes say on Marvin:
Dec 1998,
it looks to be a spider from the University of Aarhus in Denmark. The whois query says it is the "Danish Network for Research and Education".


 11:15 pm on Oct 22, 2000 (gmt 0)

sounds harmless

Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  

Home / Forums Index / Search Engines / Search Engine Spider and User Agent Identification
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved