homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Pubcon Platinum Sponsor 2014
Home / Forums Index / Google / Google Gmail Advertising
Forum Library, Charter, Moderator: open

Google Gmail Advertising Forum

Freaky message on blacklist DNS from G.
Any idea?

10+ Year Member

Msg#: 290 posted 1:17 pm on Mar 29, 2006 (gmt 0)


I have just recently encoutered a funny prob with customer sending email to my email address domain.

Eg. Sender sends to me at abc@abcd.com from their GMAIL account. Gmail sends them a note saying ...

Technical details of permanent failure:
PERM_FAILURE: SMTP Error (state 9): 554 The IP Address of the sender
( was found in a DNS blacklist database and was therefore

Any idea what is wrong as the domain is a gmail domain and not mine and my customer is sending to me and not me sending to them. But when I try with my gmail I get that too but not when I try to send to my other personal email accounts.

I don't do any email marketing but it could be that my email sent out when my customers purchase or signs up.



WebmasterWorld Administrator lifeinasia us a WebmasterWorld Top Contributor of All Time 5+ Year Member

Msg#: 290 posted 5:40 pm on Mar 29, 2006 (gmt 0)

Sounds like your mail server is configured to use blacklists to filter SPAM. Somehow, the IP address for that GMail server got added to the blacklist.

Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  

Home / Forums Index / Google / Google Gmail Advertising
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved