homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Become a Pro Member
Visit PubCon.com
Home / Forums Index / WebmasterWorld / Webmaster General
Forum Library, Charter, Moderators: phranque & physics

Webmaster General Forum

help - someone has stolen my website!

 11:29 pm on Dec 13, 2004 (gmt 0)

I was looking on google and noticed a url in adwords which had the name of my website as a .com rather than the .co.uk that i run. I clicked on the link and it went to a geocities hosted page and it was a total rippoff of my site - EXACTLY THE SAME. it has a shopping cart as well that can collect peoples credit card details but there is no contact information. I think the people who have set it up are fraudsters and will be using peoples card details. I am really worried about this ad have e-mailed adwords and geocities as well as the shopping cart provider but who knows how long they will take to respond. I have a really good google position and i am concerned that this may effect it - should i contact google?. If anyone has any advice on what i can do it will be very gratefully recieved.




 11:48 pm on Dec 13, 2004 (gmt 0)

I have a really good google position and i am concerned that this may effect it - should i contact google?.

Possibly, look into whether you can make a DMCA complaint.


 10:01 am on Dec 14, 2004 (gmt 0)

Write to the hosting company. Most will delete the site immediately if you provide sufficient information that they can be sure which of the two sites is genuine.



 1:30 pm on Dec 14, 2004 (gmt 0)

Take a look at the checklist in this post [webmasterworld.com] in the Content, Writing and Copyright forum library.

And welcome to WebmasterWorld!


 1:56 pm on Dec 14, 2004 (gmt 0)

the problem with my situation is that the site in question is hosted on geocities and i do not know of any way to find their contact information as they have nothing like that on the copied version of my site. I have contacted geocities but no response yet - i could be waiting forever unless anyone knows of a relevant direct dial phone number or e-mail address

Tropical Island

 3:49 pm on Dec 14, 2004 (gmt 0)

Contact AdWords support direct ASAP.

Their direct phone number is 1-866-2GOOGLE or 001-866-246-6453.

You want these guys out of AdWords as quick as possible.


 3:54 pm on Dec 14, 2004 (gmt 0)


#23 has the information you need.

Some more info here:

The Grizzler

 4:01 pm on Dec 14, 2004 (gmt 0)

Get a lawyer on it straight away. Hit them hard.

We have had a similar experience and found that Google was extremely slow to respond to our DMCA compaint and in any event their response was not satisfactory.


 4:26 pm on Dec 14, 2004 (gmt 0)

i just got hold of adwords on that number and they will be removing the link. I have registered complaints with geocities but got no luck calling them. Hopefully this site will be down quickly.

thanks everyone for your help!

Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  

Home / Forums Index / WebmasterWorld / Webmaster General
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved