homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Become a Pro Member
Home / Forums Index / WebmasterWorld / Webmaster General
Forum Library, Charter, Moderators: phranque & physics

Webmaster General Forum

New text for virus from - support@symantec.com
There many also gonna fall for that one

 1:34 pm on Apr 26, 2004 (gmt 0)

Damn they are getting worse, email virus text is pointing directly to the normal computer users, with a tricky text and email@abigcompany.com

The normal user will fall for that 100%, we need a internet TV show 24 hours, I even think it will be good business.


The sample file you sent contains a new virus version of buppa.k.
Please update your virus scanner with the attached dat file.

Best Regards,
Keria Reynolds

from : support@symantec.com



 3:02 pm on Apr 26, 2004 (gmt 0)

seen many of these supposedly from "weleaveyoursytemwideopen tec"..they write "symantec" cos the logo is more cute that way ..and the same kind of stuff supposedly from Moneysoft too ( XP actually fits all the criteria for a virus )....

Had some really quite well done phishing for ebay details too last week ....

at least they're more inventive than most spam


 3:28 pm on Apr 26, 2004 (gmt 0)

Is that ebay one one big jpeg that comes in. If so we saw it last week and thought it was one of the best we have seen in ages. Takes you to a perfect representation of their site as well with fully working links.

As much as I moan about my users you see something like that and sometimes see how they can fall for it.


 11:03 am on Apr 27, 2004 (gmt 0)

thats the one ...
I tend to look at every thing in "message source" as i never 100% trust any AV ..so the errors were readily apparent ...still I went through the routine for the pleasure of seeing such a well done forgery ....

funnily enough at exactly the same time the BBC were running a radio program on the subject ....of phishing and virii ...

The one thing that they didn't mention was to me the most obvious ...

if its phishing then the server it sends you to is highly unlikely to be https ..so most of the time you only have to look at the address bar of where you get sent to ...

course one or two have put up secured servers but then it's not every day that ebay's ( or your banks ) secure servers are in Russia ...

I actually saw this one time ...!

(re-edited due to truly awfull spelling ...sorry )

Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  

Home / Forums Index / WebmasterWorld / Webmaster General
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved