mcavic

msg:3807080 | 6:22 am on Dec 14, 2008 (gmt 0) |
If I was Cuil, I'd be getting desperate, too. I just did a quick search for my ceramics site, and it came up with a picture of a Craftsman wrench.
|
limoshawn

msg:3807243 | 5:44 pm on Dec 14, 2008 (gmt 0) |
another 45 spam comments since my first post, [sarcasm] sure looks like they are getting their money's worth out of this campaign! [/sarcasm]
|
piatkow

msg:3807427 | 9:22 pm on Dec 14, 2008 (gmt 0) |
Apart form the issues over graphics the results from a Cuil search in my sector look as good as or better than G. The layout actually makes focussing on the best result easier than in G's top to bottom listing. Pity they blew it by going so very public before it was ready.
|
limoshawn

msg:3807435 | 9:33 pm on Dec 14, 2008 (gmt 0) |
other than the spammy link building (79 new spam/link comments on my site since my last post) I really don't have any opinion of them.
|
Rosalind

msg:3807753 | 11:05 am on Dec 15, 2008 (gmt 0) |
Wow, I didn't expect them to stoop this low, but I just found a bunch of these submitted to one of my forms. It's clear to me that this is done by bot, not manually. So the question is, is somebody trying to discredit Cuil, or are they really this stupid?
|
pageoneresults

msg:3807779 | 12:02 pm on Dec 15, 2008 (gmt 0) |
| So the question is, is somebody trying to discredit Cuil. |
| I'd be apt to believe that is the situation. I'd definitely be looking at and, following the trail of those email headers to confirm that Cuil is getting desperate. If that is the case, then my Bank, PayPal, and quite a few other brands are really desperate. ;)
|
limoshawn

msg:3807797 | 12:51 pm on Dec 15, 2008 (gmt 0) |
| If that is the case, then my Bank, PayPal, and quite a few other brands are really desperate. ;) |
| That's a good point PageOne, however I'm not talking about emails, just comment spam link building. Certainly could be someone trying to discredit them but not likely. There's no fishing going on like the typical Bank, PayPal email. Strictly link building- | New Search Engine- (link to cuil) |
| x165 over the last 24 hours.
|
vincevincevince

msg:3807801 | 1:00 pm on Dec 15, 2008 (gmt 0) |
Incidentally, it seems to be working - for the targeted terms - they are now number one.
|
Receptional Andy

msg:3807803 | 1:24 pm on Dec 15, 2008 (gmt 0) |
Seems like pretty standard (dumb) forum spam: [google.com...] Let's hope we can hear some kind of official comment from cuil on this...
|
cazzzk

msg:3807827 | 2:15 pm on Dec 15, 2008 (gmt 0) |
I'd be suspicious. I'm currently investigating links of that kind from that general part of the world with regard to our own website. Posted a thread about it but it hasn't been let through yet.
|
Rosalind

msg:3807874 | 3:29 pm on Dec 15, 2008 (gmt 0) |
Like Limoshawn, I noticed attempts to comment spam, rather than email, and with that same anchor text.
|
Rugles

msg:3808010 | 6:00 pm on Dec 15, 2008 (gmt 0) |
Wha? That massive amount of press and free links they received this year was not enough. It will take most of us a decade to get that many backlinks.
|
Receptional Andy

msg:3809734 | 7:32 pm on Dec 17, 2008 (gmt 0) |
There's finally an official response from Cuil on their blog [cuil.com]: | It is likely that someone is posting links to sites such as ours in an effort to disguise their true intent and trick comment filtering systems...So, to put the record straight: it's not cool, and it's not us |
|
|
pageoneresults

msg:3809763 | 8:14 pm on Dec 17, 2008 (gmt 0) |
Cuil, thanks for the updates! | It is likely that someone is posting links to sites such as ours in an effort to disguise their true intent and trick comment filtering systems. |
| It happened to me. I ended up on the Askimet blacklists and had no idea why at first. Ya see, this stuff works both ways. Many say that someone wouldn't waste their time to do this. Well, here is a prime example of it happening and potentially having the intended effect. Cuil must have served up the wrong results for a search or something. Maybe an incorrect image associated with a search result? Could have pissed someone off. ;)
|
Receptional Andy

msg:3809768 | 8:17 pm on Dec 17, 2008 (gmt 0) |
Or it could be someone that's fed up with Google and wants to push an alternative. It's automated software anyway, there's not much barrier to entry. And some of the email addresses used for the Cuil spam had somewhat "suggestive" histories too ;)
|
limoshawn

msg:3809826 | 9:33 pm on Dec 17, 2008 (gmt 0) |
I followed the link to cuil's blog and thought I would leave a comment, unfortunately I got the following message: | You have been banned from commenting. |
| How ironic!
|
Receptional Andy

msg:3809839 | 9:49 pm on Dec 17, 2008 (gmt 0) |
Well they don't want spam links to Cuil showing up in there, do they? ;)
|
D_Blackwell

msg:3809950 | 12:29 am on Dec 18, 2008 (gmt 0) |
I don't know or really care about who it is. If it were Cuil, that would be the end of them, and after a much less than impressive debut IMO. We don't have that many blogs, but they all got hit. Everyone. The only pitch was text and link for Cuil. Why discredit? Maybe somebody is disgruntled. They don't have a product to discredit at this point. If they are only 'disguising true intent' they are doing a very good job. As far as the response on their own blog, we do not 'nofollow' legitimate links posted on our blogs, and while I understand that can provide some protection from being associated with 'bad neighborhoods', it is no big deal to delete spam and give our users the 'follow' that they deserve if they have made a useful post for our users. The 'nofollow' is lame and lazy for our purposes - though I understand why some choose to go that route or think that they should.
|
johnser

msg:3810313 | 11:09 am on Dec 18, 2008 (gmt 0) |
Are we sure it wasn't Mr Cutts having a laugh?
|
tootricky

msg:3810463 | 3:18 pm on Dec 18, 2008 (gmt 0) |
Looks like someone is testing some kind of hackage.
|
zuko105

msg:3810523 | 4:45 pm on Dec 18, 2008 (gmt 0) |
| Looks like someone is testing some kind of hackage. |
| Looks like a successful test.
|
rrussell

msg:3810531 | 4:52 pm on Dec 18, 2008 (gmt 0) |
Very interesting. One of our websites shows a competitors logo as the image.
|
JS_Harris

msg:3811787 | 7:56 am on Dec 20, 2008 (gmt 0) |
Cuil isn't even on my radar as they send virtually no traffic. If I got spam from them I'd be blocking them with every means available.
|
diddlydazz

msg:3811806 | 9:47 am on Dec 20, 2008 (gmt 0) |
| One of our websites shows a competitors logo as the image. |
| I am seeing this too for dozens of queries for one of our sites as a sidenote, we once had a *person* (stupid or not, you decide) spamming various boards, linking to one of our sites. the comments were along the lines of "this site is the best", "all other sites are crap", etc to this day i don't know who or why they did it i contacted the blog/board owners (the ones that i could find), apologised and explained that no-one from our company had posted the messages. strange situation to be in!
|
Rosalind

msg:3812057 | 12:52 am on Dec 21, 2008 (gmt 0) |
| as a sidenote, we once had a *person* (stupid or not, you decide) spamming various boards, linking to one of our sites. the comments were along the lines of "this site is the best", "all other sites are crap", etc to this day i don't know who or why they did it |
| I was looking into referral spam today, and discovered that this happened to Jill Whalen as well. Perhaps it could happen to anyone who gets successful enough to inspire jealousy?
|
BeeDeeDubbleU

msg:3813261 | 9:48 am on Dec 23, 2008 (gmt 0) |
| One of our websites shows a competitors logo as the image. |
| It has been doing this since day one unfortunately and they don't seem to have the skills to fix it.
|
joestern

msg:3814606 | 5:13 pm on Dec 26, 2008 (gmt 0) |
I was having huge, different problems with Cuil. I found tons of errors in my httpd logs. They were for crazy, deep, nested requests where they had bunched together many different directories from my site and requested pages in these new random areas that didn't exist. I asked Cuil about this, and they basically told me that they only check links that they find from other sites. This is complete nonsense. They seem to be doing some other kind of digging. Combined with what I see above, I think these guys are up to something.
|
joestern

msg:3814607 | 5:16 pm on Dec 26, 2008 (gmt 0) |
Oh - and I see my images all over my competitors sites listed on Cuil.
|
Megaclinium

msg:3815380 | 4:23 am on Dec 29, 2008 (gmt 0) |
Logs should show the IP address of the forum spam poster?
|
|