Msg#: 4460868 posted 5:53 am on Jun 3, 2012 (gmt 0)
I had quite few domains registered through 1&1. I decided to cut down on domain portfolio as I figured I would never use many of them. So I turn auto-renewal OFF, and I also go and I cancel those domains explicitly with option to expire at the end of contract, just to be sure. Some domains get canceled and they disappear from my account immediately or almost immediately. But some are kept showing even more then six months after expiration/cancellation. Some show a link for reactivation in the expiration date column. For example, it says "reactivate within 21 days," or even -1 days. 1&1 said they keep them for me if I change my mind. Give me a break. Then, after my further complaints, they said domains were in the process of deletion. Again, give me a break, you don't need more then six months to delete domains.
I guess they register domains in their (or whatever else) name, they keep privacy on, and they serve ads (as I could see). As they do this with some domains only, I guess they have an automated system that decides if domains would have any traffic or not, not sure.
At the end of the day, I don't care, I set them to expire, so anyone can take over. This applies to 1&1, right? But don't show them in my account! In addition, they're still associated with my other domains via IP address since they're being kept in my account.
Is there anything else about such practice that I should know?