homepage Welcome to WebmasterWorld Guest from
register, free tools, login, search, pro membership, help, library, announcements, recent posts, open posts,
Become a Pro Member

Home / Forums Index / WebmasterWorld / Domain Names
Forum Library, Charter, Moderators: buckworks & webwork

Domain Names Forum

Notice of Intellectual Property-Trademark Name
Is this a scam or legit?

 5:53 pm on Aug 26, 2010 (gmt 0)

Just recieved this email and am wondering if it's legit or if it's a ploy to get me to buy "example.asia" - I do own "example.com". Anyone know what the deal is on this?

Dear Manager,

We are a Network Service Company which is the domain name registration center in Shanghai, China. On August,26th,2010, We received FOO Company's application that they are registering the name "example" as their Internet Trademark and "example.cn","example.com.cn" ,"example.asia"domain names etc.,It is China and ASIA domain names.But after auditing we found the brand name been used by your company. As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to notice you, so I am sending you this Email to check.According to the principle in China,your company is the owner of the trademark,In our auditing time we can keep the domain names safe for you firstly, but our audit period is limited, if you object the third party application these domain names and need to protect the brand in china and Asia by yourself, please let the responsible officer contact us as soon as possible. Thank you!



 6:23 pm on Aug 26, 2010 (gmt 0)

I got these like a year ago. It's basically a scam, I would ignore it. Wait, I DID ignore it and nothing happened.


 6:33 pm on Aug 26, 2010 (gmt 0)

Get them almost on a daily basis scam all the way.


 11:05 pm on Aug 26, 2010 (gmt 0)

Scam, I also get them all the time.


 2:21 pm on Aug 31, 2010 (gmt 0)

We did contact them before to ask what this is all about. Basically they will register our trademarked name with .hk, .cn., .tw -- and they were asking about $1500 per domain name

That was a year ago

Now they're back and contacting us again. So basically their threat of deadline in 3 days for selling these domain names did not materialize


 6:43 pm on Aug 31, 2010 (gmt 0)

Yes, its a scam. I got a similar email for my .com domain that sounds like an Asian name.

Global Options:
 top home search open messages active posts  

Home / Forums Index / WebmasterWorld / Domain Names
rss feed

All trademarks and copyrights held by respective owners. Member comments are owned by the poster.
Home ¦ Free Tools ¦ Terms of Service ¦ Privacy Policy ¦ Report Problem ¦ About ¦ Library ¦ Newsletter
WebmasterWorld is a Developer Shed Community owned by Jim Boykin.
© Webmaster World 1996-2014 all rights reserved