vite_rts

msg:3112333 | 6:40 pm on Oct 7, 2006 (gmt 0) |
speak to your web host, its possible that they have a domain parking system of some sort, but in these domain related situations, talk to the host first
|
jimbeetle

msg:3112338 | 6:50 pm on Oct 7, 2006 (gmt 0) |
Check what the domain in the e-mail address resolves to. I assume that's the registrar and that it's parking the domain.
|
ballada

msg:3112368 | 7:38 pm on Oct 7, 2006 (gmt 0) |
Hi, no I checked whoisthis and it is a site that sells domain name registration. When I checked the name of my site it did not come up in their list of taken names. All the other forms such as .com .info etc with a link to the actual website but not my .biz, very strange. Dominique
|
GeorgeK

msg:3112378 | 7:57 pm on Oct 7, 2006 (gmt 0) |
Login to your registrar and change the nameservers for the domain to those of a webhost that you trust.
|
vite_rts

msg:3112420 | 8:34 pm on Oct 7, 2006 (gmt 0) |
Is there a reason you don't simply pick up the phone an call your host, or the company you got to register the domain name with. Sorry to ask, but do any of these terms mean anything to you? DO not go changing DNS info if you have no deep knowledge of internet tech seeing as you know about , whois, does it bring you up as registrant for the domain in question?
|
ballada

msg:3112501 | 10:26 pm on Oct 7, 2006 (gmt 0) |
Thank you for your reply. My host is in America and I am in the UK so calling is a bit of a problem, I also bought the domain name through them. I have submitted a ticket to them but they get very defensive if they are caught out in anything. The server was hacked by crackers child which wiped out all my index pages and I asked a question about it on the support forum and got banned for a day. Re the DNS, I do not think I have enough knowledge to fiddle with that. I went to the whoisthis site and if I checked my domain name it did come up as being registered to me.
|
trader

msg:3112639 | 1:57 am on Oct 8, 2006 (gmt 0) |
A lot of registrars automaticlaly use their own parking page with ppc ads if you never change the nameservers to your own. In all likelihhod that is what is going on. All you need to do is change the DNS to your own, perhaps use the same 2 as one of your websites. Another option is put in on fowarding which likely requires you to continue using the registrars NS but possibly a different set.
|
oneguy

msg:3113068 | 3:10 pm on Oct 8, 2006 (gmt 0) |
| The site is just a list of links with 'Why am I seeing this web site?' at the bottom which when you click brings up outlook with the address info@whois-help.info . |
| | A lot of registrars automaticlaly use their own parking page with ppc ads if you never change the nameservers to your own. In all likelihhod that is what is going on. |
| That's definitely what's happening. Change your nameservers from the default nameservers, and that will go away. I'd probably point at the subdomain if it were me.
|
jimbeetle

msg:3113113 | 4:16 pm on Oct 8, 2006 (gmt 0) |
| A lot of registrars automaticlaly use their own parking page |
| That was my first thought when I saw what the domain in the e-mail address resolved to. But then ballada says: | When I checked the name of my site it did not come up in their list of taken names. All the other forms such as .com .info etc with a link to the actual website but not my .biz, very strange. |
| | I went to the whoisthis site and if I checked my domain name it did come up as being registered to me. |
| Well now, unless I'm reading the above totally wrong, it sounds like ballada doesn't actually hold the registration.
|
ballada

msg:3113202 | 5:32 pm on Oct 8, 2006 (gmt 0) |
Hi everybody, I changed the DNS and it seems to have worked. Thank you all for your help. Dominique
|
jimbeetle

msg:3113236 | 5:58 pm on Oct 8, 2006 (gmt 0) |
| it did come up as being registered to me |
| And looks like I did read everything wrong.
|
nativenewyorker

msg:3113708 | 6:25 am on Oct 9, 2006 (gmt 0) |
I recently noticed a domain registered and hosted at one of the top registrars, where the www version was pointing to the developed site and the www-less version was pointing to the registrar's own ad-filled parking page with "coming soon". I'd be very surprised if this doesn't happen with thousands of other domains. I'll let you decide if this behavior is negligence or intentional.
|
stu2

msg:3135331 | 7:57 am on Oct 26, 2006 (gmt 0) |
This can be avoided by using the Registrar's DNS servers and then using the Host Records to URL Frame Redirect the Hostnames WWW, @, * to your website.
|
|