Today a notice appeared on Facebook user pages announcing:
"Look for the Facebook Like button across the web to connect with the things you care about and share them with your friends."
While a "Like Button" seems innocent enough, the following sections of the same page informs Facebook users:
You'll find a personal and social experience the moment you arrive on our select partner sites - Microsoft Docs.com, Pandora and Yelp.
We’re working closely with these partners so you can quickly connect with your friends and see relevant content on their sites. These sites personalize your experience using your public Facebook information.
The page then claims:
None of your data is shared with the site when you view social plugins. Social plugins pull information directly from Facebook and the site has no access to the data being displayed to you.
Then another notice:
You can easily opt-out of experiencing this on these sites by clicking here or clicking "No Thanks" on the blue Facebook notification on the top of partner sites. If you opt-out, your public Facebook information can still be shared by your friends to these partner sites unless you block the application.
Note that its opt-out... but you can't opt all the way out.
yep, they're following the google model of opt-out versus opt-in. And do you know why they're doing that? Because G has shown that it works. Sure, you'll get the occasional critical article and a few groups of crazy tree huggers on FB moaning and wringing their hands, but it doggone works and that's the only thing that matters.